Skip to main content

7. Public nuisance

 

A public nuisance is a common law offence. It is committed by doing an act not warranted by law, or omitting to discharge a legal duty, and the effect of such act or omission was to endanger the life, health, property or comfort of the public, or to obstruct the public in the exercise of rights common to everyone. The offence of public nuisance covers a wide and diverse range of activities, such as obstructing public highways or public places and roads. The maximum penalty is imprisonment for 7 years and a fine (s.101I(1)Criminal Procedure Ordinance (Cap. 221))

 

In acting or omitting to act, the defendant knew, or ought to have known the consequence of what he did or omitted to do.

 

It is necessary for the prosecution to prove that the public, opr a class of the public, would be obstructed in the exercise of rights common to everyone, for example, the use of public carriageways, and that the suffering of common injury by members of the public by interference with rights enjoyed by them as a class of the public.

 

Where a case concerns citizens’ exercising of their right of free speech, right of assembly and right of demonstration, the court will consider whether the demonstrators’ conduct impinged unreasonably on the rights of others and whether the demonstration involves a reasonable use of the highway or public places.

 

The reasonableness test is essentially a question of fact and degree depending on all the circumstances, including the extent and duration of the obstruction, the time and place where the obstruction occurs, as well as the purpose for which the obstruction is done.

 

Where the obstruction in question results from a peaceful demonstration the court should recognize citizen’s constitutional rights to peaceful demonstration and give it substantial weight in the balancing exercise. What is reasonable must not be so narrowly defined as to devalue, or unduly impair the ability to exercise, the constitutional right.

 

The right to express views extends to the manner in which the protestors wish to express their views as well as the location(s) where they wish to do so, such as on the pavements or plazas outside government buildings or embassies.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

7. 公眾滋擾

公眾滋擾為普通法罪行。它是透過作出法律上不必要的作為或疏忽法律責任及有關行為危害生命,健康,財物,公眾舒適或阻礙公眾人士行使基本權利。這條罪行涵蓋廣泛且多種活動,包括阻礙高速公路、場所或道路。一經定罪,最高刑罰可處罰款及監禁7年。(《刑事訴訟程序條例第101I(1)條

 

被告必須知道或應該已知道其作為或不作為會導致犯公眾滋擾罪。

 

控方必須證明有關的滋擾,會影響社會所有成員或社會上某一類別的成員行使他們的基本權利,例如使用公共行車道,以及該滋擾普遍影響了屬於某一類別成員因作為公眾的一份子所擁有的權利。

 

當案件涉及公民行使其言論自由、集會、示威等權利,法庭將考慮示威人士的行為會否不合理地損害了他人的權利以及相關示威是否涉及合理使用高速公路及公眾地方。

 

示威人士的行為合理與否是事實和程度的問題,取決於當時的情況,包括妨礙的程度及持續時間、妨礙發生的時間及地點,以及妨礙的目的。

 

如果涉及的妨礙是由和平示威造成的,法庭應認可憲法上賦予公民的和平示威權利,並在平衡比重時給予相當大的重視及比重。法庭不應狹窄地衡量合理程度來貶低或不適當地損害行使憲法權利的能力。

 

表達意見的權利可延伸到示威者可選擇他們希望表達其意見的方式及地點,例如政府大樓或大使館外的行人道或廣場。

修訂日期: