Skip to main content

4. Riot (S.19 Public Order Ordinance)

A riot is an unlawful assembly where a breach of the peace in fact occurred. Anyone taking part in an unlawful assembly that turned riotous will be considered as taking part in a riot. A person convicted with taking part in a riot is liable to imprisonment of 10 years on indictment, or a fine of $5,000 and imprisonment of 5 years on summary conviction.

 

A person commits a breach of the peace when he unlawfully resorts to violence which injures someone or damages property, or which threatens immediate danger of injury or damage to property in the presence of the targeted person or the owner of that property.

 

Conduct which was peaceful in itself might, if persistently pursued, provoke others to violence. If a violent response could be considered the natural consequence of such persistent conduct, the person who pursued such conduct could be regarded as having committed a breach of the peace.

 

A breach of the peace on its own is not a criminal offence but the police can exercise the power of arrest when a breach of the peace occurs and require that the person breaching the peace to be subject to a bind-over order to keep the peace.

 

“Commits a breach of the peace”

 

As long as there is one person participating in the unlawful assembly, who may or may not be the defendant, who commits a breach of the peace, that unlawful assembly would transform into a riot.

 

As long as someone committed violent acts, such as throwing things at police officers, then regardless of whether anyone was injured or whether any property was damaged, he would have committed a breach of the peace.

 

“Takes part in a riot”

 

In relation to the conduct constituting “taking part in a riot”, there may be different manner and degrees, but the prosecution should prove that, after the unlawful assembly has turned into a riot, the defendant's conduct still possesses the necessary “corporate nature” or “common purpose”, and that the defendants’ conduct should be considered to constitute taking part in the riot (香港特別行政區 訴 楊家倫 (unrep., DCCC 875/2016, 3 April 2017))

 

A person only takes part in a riot if he participated in the acts that breached the peace; such participation must be “some individual activity in furtherance of the riot” (香港特別行政區 訴 莫嘉濤 (unrep., DCCC 901/2016, 2 May 2018), [111]). For example, if the act turning an unlawful assembly into a riot is moving in a threatening manner, the defendant must have so moved in order to form the guilty conduct. If the acts turning an unlawful assembly into a riot are comprised of many different acts, such as moving, threatening, using violence and damaging property, the defendant must have participated in some of these acts. However, even if the defendant was simply present, if he supported and/or encouraged others to take part in a riot (i.e. committing acts that breach the peace), and intended to further the riot, then he also “takes part in a riot”.

 

The guilty intention of “taking part in a riot” is that the defendant must have an intention to take part in a riot, and recklessness is not a sufficient for this offence. However, the court rejected the defendants’ argument that, in order for someone to take part in a riot, he must not only possess a common purpose together with other rioters, but also intend to assist each other through violence. (香港特別行政區  莫嘉濤 (unrep., DCCC 901/2016, 2 May 2018), [106]-[108])

Last revision date:

移至主內容

4. 暴動(《公安條例》第19條)

暴動是指一個出現了破壞了社會安寧的非法集結。任何人參與演變成暴動的非法集會即被視為參與暴動。任何人參與暴動,一經定罪,可處監禁10年(循公訴程序)或可處罰款$5000及監禁5年(簡易程序)。

 

任何人的行為如對他人或他人的財產構成實際傷害,或在當事人在場的情況下作出威脅會即將向其作出人身或財產構的傷害,該行為便屬破壞社會安寧。

 

「做出破壞社會安寧的行為」

 

只要有一個參與非法集結的人(可以是被告人或非被告人)做出破壞社會安寧的行為,該非法集結就會變性為暴動。

 

只要有人使用暴力行為,例如向警務人員投擲物品,不論有否有人受傷或有財產損失,他就已經做出破壞社會安寧的行為。

 

「參與暴動」

 

構成「參與暴動」的行為可以有不同的方式與程度,但控方應證明有關非法集結變性為暴動後,被告的行為必須具有「集體性質」及「共同目的」而且被告人的行為須構成參與暴動(香港特別行政區楊家倫 (unrep., DCCC 875/2016, 3 April 2017))

 

參與暴動必須涉及參與作出破壞社會安寧的行為;相關參與必須「為一些促進暴動的發生的個人行為」(香港特別行政區莫嘉濤 (unrep., DCCC 901/2016, 2 May 2018), [111])。例如,如果令到集結演變為暴動的行為是以恫嚇的方式移動,被告必須有這樣的移動動作才可以被判有罪。假若把非法集結演變成暴動的行為有多種,例如移動、恐嚇、使用暴力和損毀財物等等,被告必須參與其中一些活動。但是,被告亦可以憑藉他身在暴動現場這一點,支持及/或鼓勵並實際支持及/或鼓勵其他人參與暴動(即做出破壞社會安寧的行為),並意圖促進暴動的進行,在這種情況下,他亦是有份參與暴動。

 

就著被告「參與暴動」的犯罪意圖而言,控方必須證明被告有意圖參與暴動,「魯莽」並非足夠的犯罪意圖。但是,法庭不會接受被告除了要與其他人有共同目的參與暴動,他亦須有意圖使用武力去協助任何人的論點。(香港特別行政區 訴 莫嘉濤 (unrep., DCCC 901/2016, 2 May 2018), [106]-[108])

修訂日期: