Skip to main content

IV. Family Status Discrimination

Under section 2 of the Family Status Discrimination Ordinance ("FSDO"), family status means the status of a person who has the responsibility for the care of an immediate family member. An immediate family member is a person who is related by blood, marriage, adoption or affinity. The types of blood relationships covered include mother, father, brother, sister, son, daughter, grandmother, grandfather, grandchild, aunt, uncle, cousin, nephew and niece. The relationship of marriage is that of a husband and wife who are lawfully married. The relationship of adoption is that of a child who is lawfully adopted by a person who is not his/her natural parent. Relationships of affinity are those created by marriage, and include, for instance, mothers-in-law and fathers-in-law.

 

Direct discrimination may occur when a person is treated less favourably than another person on the grounds of family status. For example, a woman is transferred to a less favourable job after childbirth because her employer thinks that she has to take care of her child and will not be able to take business trips.

 

Indirect discrimination may occur when a condition or requirement that is not justifiableis applied to everyone, but in practice adversely affects persons who have family status. For example, a company insists that all its employees work overtime and a widower who has to take care of his young children cannot comply with that condition. The company then dismisses him. The widower feels aggrieved because, as a single parent, he cannot comply with that condition. If the company cannot justify why each and every employee must work overtime, this could be a case of indirect discrimination on the grounds of family status.

 

A person who has a family status is protected in the following areas:

 

  • employment;
  • education;
  • provision of goods, facilities or services;
  • disposal or management of premises;
  • eligibility to vote for and to be elected or appointed to advisory bodies;
  • participation in clubs;
  • activities of Government;
  • practising as barristers (any offer of pupillage and training provided to barristers).

If you are being discriminated against because you have to take care of a family member(s), the above section will tell you more about your rights and protection.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

IV. 家庭崗位歧視

根據《家庭崗位歧視條例第2條,家庭崗位指負有照顧直系家庭成員的責任。直系家庭成員是與另一人有血緣、婚姻、領養或姻親關係之人士。血緣關係類別可包括父母、兄弟姊妹、兒女、(外)祖父母、(外)孫、姨母、姑母、叔伯、舅父及堂(表)兄弟姊妹、姪、姪女、甥及甥女等。婚姻關係則指合法夫妻。領養關係是指兒童被合法領養,而領養者並非該兒童的親生父母。姻親關係是指因婚姻而產生的關係,包括家姑、家翁、岳母、岳父等。

 

直接歧視是指某人基於其家庭崗位而受到比另一人差的待遇。例如,僱主認為有嬰孩的婦人因要照顧孩子而不能到 海外公幹,故把某名剛生孩子的婦人調往較差的職位。

 

間接歧視是指要所有人遵守或履行劃一的條件或要求,但實際上並無充分理由需要加上該等條件或要求,而這樣做亦對有家庭崗位的人士不利。例如,某公司堅持要所有員工超時工作,但其中一名員工因妻子已去世而要照顧年幼孩子,從而不能遵守這項條件。該公司後來解僱了他。投訴人因要照顧兒子才不能遵守該項條件,所以感到憤憤不平。假如該公司不能解釋為何每名員工都必須超時工作,這便是基於家庭崗位的間接歧視行為。

 

任何人士如有家庭崗位責任(即須照顧直系家庭成員),便會在下列範疇受到法例的保障:

 

  • 僱傭;
  • 教育;
  • 貨品、設施及服務的提供;
  • 處置及管理處所;
  • 諮詢團體的投票資格及被選入或委任入該等團體;
  • 參與會社的活動;
  • 政府的活動;
  • 大律師的執業(指給予大律師的見習職位和訓練)。

如閣下因為要照顧家人而遭受歧視,可於此部分了解閣下應有的權利和保障。

修訂日期: