Skip to main content

C. Indecency with children under 16

It is an offence contrary to section 146 of the Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 200) for a person to commit an act of gross indecency with or towards a child under the age of 16, or to incite a child under the age of 16 to commit such an act with or towards him/her. The offence is not gender specific and can be committed both by a man and by a woman.

 

The maximum penalty for this offence is 10 years’ imprisonment.

 

The act committed by the defendant must be grossly indecent. This means that the act or acts in question must be grossly indecent applying the standards of right thinking members of the community. “Gross indecency” is more than merely indecent. Whether the conduct is grossly indecent will depend upon the circumstances of the particular case. 



In a case it was held that a teacher who had kissed his student on the face and lips did not commit an offence under section 146. His act, although indecent, was not grossly indecent according to the standards of contemporary society.

 

section 146 offence is committed either by the defendant doing a grossly indecent act towards the child or by inciting the child to commit a grossly indecent act with or towards the defendant. “Incite” means to “encourage”. Persons who invite or encourage the child to commit a grossly indecent act upon them commit an offence just as if they had done a grossly indecent act towards the child. Even though the defendant might remain passive during the activity, a section 146 offence is committed if the grossly indecent activity by the child upon the defendant follows invitation or encouragement by the defendant. An example would be where the defendant exposes his or her private parts and invites the child to touch those private parts.

 

It is immaterial whether the child consented to the acts which were done to him or her or agreed to the acts he or she was invited to do upon the defendant. Once the acts and the age of the child are proved, the defendant will be convicted.

 

Section 146(3) provides a statutory defence if the person who commits an act of gross indecency with or towards a child or incites a child to commit such an act with or towards him or her believes on reasonable grounds that he or she is married to the child. This is a narrow defence and is similar to the defence provided by section 124 of the Crimes Ordinance for unlawful sexual intercourse with a girl under 16 years’ of age (but over 13 years of age). As a result of the Court of Final Appeal case of HKSAR v Choi Wai Lun, an honest and reasonable belief that the girl was aged 16 or over may now be an arguable defence.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

C. 向16岁以下儿童作出猥亵行为

根据《刑事罪行条例》(香港法例第200章第146条 ,任何人向16岁以下儿童作出严重猥亵行为,或与16岁以下儿童作出严重猥亵行为,或煽动16岁以下儿童向任何人或与任何人作出猥亵行为,均属违法。这项罪行并没有指明性别,即男性或女性都有可能干犯这项罪行,最高刑罚是监禁10年。

 

被告所作的行为必须是严重猥亵;即社会上一般有合理思维的人都会认为被告的行为属严重猥亵。「严重猥亵」比猥亵更为恶劣,涉及的行为是否严重猥亵就要视乎个别个案的情况。

 

有案件涉及一名教师亲吻一名学生的脸和嘴,最后被裁定没有干犯第146条。他的行为虽然猥亵,但从现代社会的标准来说,并不算是严重猥亵。

 

被告向16岁以下儿童作出严重猥亵行为,或煽动16岁以下儿童向他或与他作出严重猥亵行为,便属干犯第146条。「煽动」意即「鼓吹」;任何人邀请或鼓吹儿童向他或与他作出严重猥亵行为,便等同向该名儿童作出严重猥亵行为。若该名儿童因被告邀请或鼓吹,才向被告作出严重猥亵行为,即使被告在过程中表现被动,亦会触犯第146条。举例说,被告向儿童展示自己的私处,并邀请儿童触摸他或她的私处,便属犯法。

 

不论该名儿童是否同意被告所作的严重猥亵行为,或是否同意应被告的邀请向被告作出严重猥亵行为,都不重要,只要证明被告曾作有关行为,而涉及的儿童不足16岁,被告便会被裁定罪名成立。

 

根据第146(3)条,任何人如基于合理理由相信他或她与一名儿童是已婚夫妇,即使他或她与该儿童或向该儿童作出严重猥亵行为,或煽动该儿童与他或向他作出严重猥亵行为,有关的合理相信,可成为法定免责抗辩理由。此抗辩理由一般较难成立,情况与《刑事罪行条例第124条(与16岁以下、但年满13岁的女童进行非法性交)的抗辩理由相似。

修订日期: