Skip to main content

1. Elements of the offence

Rape is committed by a man having non-consensual sexual intercourse with a woman. Section 118(3) of the Crimes Ordinance (Cap. 200) provides that a man commits rape if:

 

"(a)      he has unlawful sexual intercourse with a woman who at the time of the intercourse does not consent to it; and
(b)       at that time he knows that she does not consent to the intercourse or he is reckless as to whether she consents to it."

The maximum penalty is life imprisonment.

 

In Hong Kong, rape can only be committed by a man upon a woman. A man commits rape if he has unlawful sexual intercourse with a woman who at the time of the intercourse does not consent to it and at the time he knows she does not consent or is reckless whether she consents or not. A woman who helps or encourages a man to rape a woman may be charged with aiding and abetting rape.

 

Under the common law, it was conclusively presumed that a boy under 14 years of age is incapable of sexual intercourse. However, pursuant to section 118O of the Crimes Ordinance (Cap.200), the presumption of law that a boy under the age of 14 is incapable of sexual intercourse, buggery or bestiality is now abolished. Therefore, a boy under 14 years of age but above 10 years’ of age (the age at which criminal liability commences) will be criminally liable for offences involving sexual intercourse.

 

For defendants between 10 years’ of age and 14 years’ of age, there is another legal doctrine called doli incapax , which requires the prosecution to prove beyond reasonable doubt that the defendant knew that what he was doing was seriously wrong as opposed to being merely naughty or mischievous.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

1. 罪行元素

强奸是指男子在女子不同意之下与她性交。《刑事罪行条例》(香港法例第200章第118(3)条列明,如任何男子:

 

(a)与一名女子非法性交,而性交时该女子对此并不同意;及(b)当时他知道该女子并不同意性交,或罔顾该女子是否对此同意」,便干犯强奸罪,最高刑罚是终身监禁。

 

在香港,只有男性会干犯强奸罪,受害人必须是女性。如一名男子与一名女子非法性交,该名女子当时并不同意性交,而男子当时知道她不同意性交,或没有理会她是否同意性交,他便干犯强奸罪。任何女子协助或唆使一名男子强奸另一名女子,可能会被控协助及教唆强奸。

 

根据普通法,法庭会立论假设14岁以下的男童无能力性交。不过,《刑事罪行条例第118O条已废除未满14岁男童无能力性交、肛交或兽交的法律推定。 因此,年满10岁(开始需要负上刑事责任的年龄)至未满14岁的男童亦要就涉及性交的罪行,负上刑事责任。

 

至於10岁至14岁的被告,法庭会考虑多一个法律原理,称為「无犯罪能力推断」;即控方必须在毫无合理疑点之下,证明被告知道自己的所作所為并非纯粹因為顽皮,他知道有关行為是严重错误。

修订日期: