Skip to main content

1. Is it true that sexual intercourse with a female under the age of 16 would be rape even if she consents to sexual intercourse?

No. A female under the age of 16 may factually consent to sexual intercourse. That consent means that rape is not committed. However, she must have understood the nature of the act for the consent. This consent may amount to a defence to a charge of rape.

 

Even if there is consent to sexual intercourse, the defendant could be convicted of unlawful sexual intercourse with a girl under 16 years of age contrary to section 124 of the Crimes Ordinance. The offence is punishable with a maximum of 5 years’ imprisonment. If the girl is under 13 years of age, section 123 of the Crimes Ordinanceapplies. The maximum penalty under section 123 is life imprisonment. Both section 123 and section 124 are offences of strict liability. Provided sexual intercourse is proved and, as a fact, the girl was at the time under 13 or 16 as the case may be, the defendant will be convicted irrespective of any belief that the girl in question was older than 13 or 16 as the case may be.



Alternatively if there is consent to sexual intercourse but the female is under 16 years’ of age, there could be a charge of indecent assault contrary to section 122 of the Crimes Ordinance. This offence carries a maximum of 10 years’ imprisonment. The consent of a girl under 16 is no defence to a charge of indecent assault as, in law, she cannot consent. It is however a defence if it can be shown that he honestly and reasonably believed that the girl was 16 or over.

 

(see section on ‘Indecent Assault’).

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

1. 如果与一名16岁以下女童性交,即使她同意,我是否也干犯了强奸罪?

不是。16岁以下女童事实上可同意性交。由于她同意,强奸罪便不成立。不过,她必须明白有关行为的本意,才算是同意;被控强奸的被告才能以此抗辩。

 

不过,即使女童同意性交,被告仍可因《刑事罪行条例第124条「与年龄在16岁以下的女童性交」被定罪,最高可被判监禁5年。若涉案女童未满13岁,《刑事罪行条例第123条便适用,最高刑罚是终身监禁。不论是第123条第124条,被告都须负上绝对法律责任。一旦证实女童在性交时确实未满13岁或16岁,即使被告相信该女童已年满13岁或16岁,他仍会被定罪。

 

此外,如女方同意性交,但她未满16岁,被告亦可被控 《刑事罪行条例第122条列明的猥亵侵犯罪,最高刑罚是监禁10年。被告被控猥亵侵犯,亦不能以女童同意作为抗辩,因为在法律上,未满16岁的女童不能同意进行构成猥亵侵犯的行为。 然而,若能够证明被告真诚及合理地相信女童年龄已过16岁,这将会是抗辩的理由。

 

(详情请参考「猥亵侵犯」一栏)

修订日期: