Skip to main content

Q2. A landlord wishes to evict the tenant within the regulated cycle by withholding the maintenance and repair responsibility reasonably required for the occupation. Does the landlord violate Part IVA of the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance?

 

Part IVA of the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance (Cap. 7) stipulates that the maintenance and repair of certain basic facilities in the premises is a mandatory responsibility of the landlord in a tenancy on a subdivided unit. A landlord who fails to comply with such responsibility could be filed by the tenant in civil proceedings for recovery of the cost involved. More seriously, if such an abstain from action is to evict the tenant from the unit, the landlord may commit an offence of harassment under the Ordinance.

 

Mandatory responsibility for repair and maintenance

 

Under Part IVA of the Ordinance, the landlord must maintain and keep in repair the drains, pipes and electrical wiring serving the premises exclusively; and windows of the premises. In addition, the landlord must keep in proper working order the fixtures and fittings provided by the landlord in the premises. On receiving a notice from the tenant for the repair of an item mentioned above, the landlord must carry out the repair as soon as practicable. If the landlord fails to fulfill any of his obligations, the tenant may, by giving the landlord not less than 30 days’ prior notice in writing, terminate the tenancy. However, the provision of early termination is a right that the tenant can exercise, and the tenant can opt to occupy the unit without surrendering the tenancy.

 

Civil proceedings

 

Alternatively, the tenant may first carry out the repairs where practicable, and claim the landlord for the repair costs. If needed, the tenant may take legal actions (e.g. the Small Claims Tribunal deals with monetary claims not exceeding HK$75,000).

 

Apart from section 5 in Schedule 7 to the Ordinance which stipulates a few mandatory terms on maintenance and repair as part of landlord’s obligations under a regulated tenancy to which Part IVA of the Ordinance applies, a landlord and a tenant may freely negotiate and agree on appropriate terms. In the event of tenancy disputes on maintenance and repair matters which cannot be settled between the landlord and the tenant, either party may resort to legal proceedings to deal with the matters.

 

Offence of harassment

 

Perhaps of greater concern is that withholding services reasonably required for occupation of the tenant might commit an offence of harassment under Part IVA of the Ordinance. If a person, in relation to a subdivided unit:

  1. either
    1. does any act calculated to interfere with the peace or comfort of the tenant or members of the tenant’s household; or
    2. persistently withdraws or withholds services reasonably required for occupation of the subdivided unit as a dwelling; and
  2. knows, or has reasonable cause to believe, that that conduct is likely to cause the tenant
    1. to give up occupation of the subdivided unit; or
    2. to refrain from exercising any right or pursuing any remedy in respect of the subdivided unit,

the person commits an offence and is liable on conviction on indictment by the court on a first conviction, to a fine of $500,000 and to imprisonment for 12 months; and on a second or subsequent conviction, to a fine of $1,000,000 and to imprisonment for 3 years (see Section 120AAZO).

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

Q2. 业主故意不履行租客占用所需的合理保养维修责任,以期赶走租客。业主是否有违反《业主与租客(综合)条例》第IVA部?

 

条例订明,处所某些基本设施的保养和维修属业主的强制性责任,不予履行或被入禀追讨维修费用,更甚者若以此作为赶走租客的手段,可能干犯条例订明的侵优罪行。

 

维修及保养的强制性责任

 

根据条例第IVA部,业主须保养和维修仅供处所使用的排水渠或污水渠、喉管及电线;及处所的窗户。此外,业主亦须保持其在处所内提供的固定附着物及装置正常运作。业主在收到租客通知要求维修上述项目后,须尽快进行维修。如业主没有履行上述义务,租客可藉给予业主不少于30日的事先书面通知,终止有关租赁。然而,可提早退租的规定是为租客的权利,租客亦可继续占用单位而不退租。

 

民事诉讼

 

或者,租客在可行的情况下可先进行维修,然后向业主追讨有关维修费用。如有需要,租客可诉诸法律行动(例如小额钱债审裁处处理不超过港币75,000元的申索)。

除了条例附表7第5条规定一些关于保养及维修的强制性条款以外,业主和租客可以自由议定适当的条款。如业主和租客就保养及维修事宜出现争议而不能自行解决,任何一方均可透过法律程序来处理有关事宜。第5条规定一些关于保养及维修的强制性条款以外,业主和租客可以自由议定适当的条款。如业主和租客就保养及维修事宜出现争议而不能自行解决,任何一方均可透过法律程序来处理有关事宜。

 

侵扰罪行

 

然而更值得注意的是,不提供为占用该分间单位而合理所需的服务,有可能触犯条例第IVA部所载的侵扰罪行。如任何人就分间单位:

  1. 作出以下行为:
    1. 作出任何刻意打扰租客或其住户成员的安宁或舒适生活的作为;或
    2. 经常截停或不提供为占用该分间单位作住宅而合理所需的服务;及
  2. 知道或有合理因由相信,该行为相当可能致使该租客:
    1. 放弃占用该分间单位;或
    2. 不就该分间单位而行使任何权利或追索任何补救,

该人即属犯罪,首次定罪可处罚款$500,000及监禁12个月,第二次或其后再被定罪,可处罚款$1,000,000及监禁3年(参阅第120AAZO条)。

修订日期: