Skip to main content

6. I am a tenant of an industrial property. The landlord and I had an understanding that I would use the property for residential purpose when the tenancy agreement was signed. The landlord later evicted me from the property. Can I go to the court to enforce the tenancy agreement and seek remedies?

Entering into such kind of tenancy arrangements is not advisable and is very risky, especially to the tenant.

 

Presumably it has been written in the tenancy agreement that the subject property is for industrial use only.  It is not hard to imagine when dispute emerges, the landlord is all the more tempted to deny the existence of the alleged understanding that the property would be used for residential purpose.  If the tenant cannot prove on evidence that there was such an understanding, the tenant, instead of the landlord, would, on the face of it, be the party in breach of the user restriction in the tenancy agreement and naturally would unlikely be entitled to any remedies.

 

Even if the tenant manages to establish the understanding with the landlord at the outset, it is very doubtful whether the court would specifically enforce a tenancy agreement which is in breach of the user restriction of the property.

 

Separately, the landlord and the tenant are most likely in breach of the deed of mutual covenant of the building for allowing the property to be used for non-industrial purposes.  Both of them may be liable in legal action by the management company, the incorporated owners (if any) or other owners of the building.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

6. 我是工业单位的租客。我和业主在签订租约时的共识是我会租用该物业做住宅用途。业主后来将我逐出该物业。我可以透过法律程序执行有关租约及追讨补偿吗?

订立这样的租赁安排并不明智而且风险很大,尤其是对租客而言。

 

假定租约中订明相关物业只可作工业用途。不难想象当争议出现时,业主会有很大诱因否认曾经存在声称准许物业用作住宅用途的共识。如果在证据上租客未能证明双方确实有这样的共识,那么租客而非业主表面看来就是违反租约用途限制的一方,而当然难以取得任何补偿。

 

即使租客能够确立起初跟业主有上述共识,也令人十分怀疑究竟法院会否强制执行有违物业用途限制的租赁协议。

 

另外,业主和租客准许单位用作非工业用途,其实极有可能已违反大厦公契。当大厦管理公司、业主立案法团 (如有) 或其他大厦业主采取的法律行动时,双方都有可能要承担责任。

修订日期: