Skip to main content

4. If the tenant causes nuisance to neighbours, will the landlord be liable? Does the landlord have any remedies against the tenant?

The landlord may be liable for nuisance committed by the tenant if he has expressly or impliedly authorised the tenant to commit nuisance, or has adopted or continued such nuisance.

 

Tenancy agreements commonly contain a covenant by the tenant not to cause or permit nuisance, annoyance, inconvenience or disturbance to the occupants of neighbouring premises.

 

For tenancies of domestic premises entered on or after 27th December 2002, section 117(3) of the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance (Cap. 7) implies in the tenancy a covenant that the tenant not cause unnecessary annoyance, inconvenience or disturbance to the landlord or to any other person, if the tenancy does not already contain a covenant substantially to the same effect.  The legislation also implies in the tenancy a condition for forfeiture if such implied covenant is broken.

 

Before the landlord can enforce the right of re-entry or forfeiture to terminate the tenancy early, section 58 of the Conveyancing and Property Ordinance (Cap. 219) requires that a prior written notice be served on the tenant, specifying the breach complained of and requesting the tenant to remedy the breach or the compensation payable.

 

So if it can be proved that the tenant has been causing nuisance or annoyance to the occupiers of adjacent premises and where the tenant has refused to remedy the breach, the landlord may exercise the right to forfeit the tenancy and may claim against the tenant any damages caused by such early termination of the tenancy.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

4. 如果租客對鄰居造成滋擾,作為業主要負上責任嗎?業主可以向租客追討任何補償嗎?

如果業主明確或隱含地授權租客作出滋擾,或接納或延續該等滋擾,業主就有可能要為租客造成的滋擾負責。

 

租約普遍包含租客承諾不得對相鄰處所的佔用人造成或准許滋擾、煩擾、不便或騷擾。

 

租約的條款通常禁止租客對出租物業作出結構性加建或改動。於 2002 12 27 日或以後訂立的住宅處所租賃,若該租賃本身不包含具相同實質效力的承諾,則根據香港法例第7章《業主與租客(綜合)條例》第 117(3) 條包含隱含承諾租客不得對業主或任何其他人造成不必要的煩擾、不便或騷擾。法例同時隱含條件假若租客違反該承諾即業主可沒收租賃權。

 

香港法例第219章《物業轉易及財產條例》第58條規定,業主在行使重收權或提早沒收租賃權之前,須事先向租客送達書面通知,指明某被投訴的違反事項及要求租客就違反事項作出補救或要求補償。

 

因此,如果能夠證明租客對相鄰處所的佔用人造成滋擾或煩擾,而租客又拒絕就違反事項作出補救,業主就有權行使沒收租賃的權利並向租客追討任何由於提早終止租約所蒙受的損失。

修訂日期: