Skip to main content

m) Enforcement of Regulated Tenancies

 

The provisions of regulated tenancies under Part IVA of the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance (Cap. 7) are to be enforced by criminal charges and civil proceedings.

 

Criminal Charges

 

A landlord commits an offence if the landlord:

  1. without reasonable excuse, fails to submit a Notice of Tenancy (Form AR2) to the Rating and Valuation Department (“RVD”) within 60 days after the term of a regulated tenancy commences, on a conviction to a fine at level 3 (HK$10,000), and a further fine of $200 for each day during which the offence continues;
  2. charges the tenant non-permitted fees, on a first conviction to a fine at level 3 (HK$10,000) and subsequent conviction to a fine at level 4 (HK$25,000);
  3. improperly charges the tenant the reimbursement of the charges for utilities and services specified by the Ordinance, on a first conviction to a fine at level 3 (HK$10,000) and subsequent conviction to a fine at level 4 (HK$25,000);
  4. fails to give a receipt to the tenant within 7 days after receiving the amount of rent, on conviction to a fine at level 1 (HK$2,000); or
  5. unlawfully deprives the tenant of occupation of the subdivided unit, on a first conviction to a fine of HK$500,000 and to imprisonment for 12 months, and subsequent conviction to a fine of HK$1,000,000 and to imprisonment for 3 years.

 

In addition, for the purpose of fulfilling the duties related to the tenancy regulation, the Commissioner of the RVD (“the Commissioner”) may serve on any person a requisition in the specified form or require the landlord or tenant of any premises to provide any reference document. A person commits an offence if he/she:

  1. without reasonable excuse, refuses or neglects to comply with Commissioner’s requisition in specified form or requests to provide reference documents, on a conviction to a fine at level 3 (HK$10,000) and to imprisonment for 3 months.
  2. in purported compliance with Commissioner’s requisition or request knows that or is reckless as to whether or not, the particulars, reference documents or information, or the thing said or stated, is false or misleading in a material particular, on a conviction to a fine at level 3 (HK$10,000) and to imprisonment for 3 months.

 

Statutory Rights in Civil Proceedings

 

Apart from criminal charges, the Ordinance also stipulates the rights of tenants of the regulated tenancies to withhold the rent payable or terminate the tenancy regardless of the break clause provided in the tenancy agreement, under the following circumstances:

  1. Arranging the tenancy agreement to be stamped: If the landlord fails to return a counterpart of the stamped tenancy agreement within 30 days after receiving the tenancy agreement signed by the tenant, the tenant may withhold the payment of rent until the landlord has done so.
  2. Providing written tenancy: If the landlord fails to serve on the tenant a tenancy in writing reflecting the contents of the oral tenancy for signing by the parties within 30 days (the specified period) after receiving the written demand by the tenant, the tenant may either
    • to withhold the payment of rent until the landlord has done so; or
    • to terminate the tenancy by, within 7 days after the specified period, giving the landlord not less than 30 days’ prior notice in writing of the termination.
  3. Fulfilling maintenance and repair obligations: If the landlord fails to fulfill the maintenance and repair obligations specified in part 3, Schedule 7 of the Ordinance, the tenant may, by giving the landlord not less than 30 days’ prior notice in writing, terminate the tenancy.

 

The Ordinance also stipulates the rights of landlords to terminate the tenancy and repossess the property regardless of the 4-year security of tenure, if the tenant fails to pay the rent to the landlord within 15 days after the due date or in breach of the tenant’s obligations specified in part 4, Schedule 7 of the Ordinance.

 

Given these statutory rights that both parties may uphold in civil proceedings (e.g., in an application by the landlord to repossess the property due to non-payment of rent), there is an incentive for the landlords and tenants to comply with the related provisions in the regulated tenancies.

 

In case of a dispute between the parties over the terms of the regulated tenancies and the issue does not involve committing the offences of the Ordinance, the parties may use the free advisory or mediatory services provided by the RVD (see below). If both parties cannot reach an agreement on the disputes, they may be resolved by civil action. The principle is that if the Ordinance clearly set out the rules, which are different from the provisions in the oral or written agreement between the parties, the law shall prevail.

 

For example, a landlord in the regulated tenancy failed to offer the second term tenancy to the tenant in accordance with the Ordinance and tried to evict the tenant at the expiry of the first term. The tenant refused and stayed in the subdivided unit. If the landlord attempts to reclaim the possession of the property on the ground of the expiry of the first term tenancy, Section 120AAW of the Ordinance will be applicable. It stipulates that the landlord in this case is taken to have made a second term offer to the tenant on the expiry of the offer period, and the tenant is taken to have accepted the second term offer and to be granted the second term tenancy on the expiry of the first term tenancy. The provisions of the regulated tenancy concerned will then be established.

 

Complaint Channels and Procedures

 

To complain about another person for suspected non-compliance with the requirements of the Ordinance, you may lodge your complaint through the following channels:

  • by post or visiting RVD in person: 15/F., Cheung Sha Wan Government Offices, 303 Cheung Sha Wan Road, Kowloon
  • by email: enquiries@rvd.gov.hk
  • by telephone: 2150 8303

 

Upon receipt of a complaint, RVD will process it in accordance with the following procedures:

  • RVD will first consult the complainant on the facts of the complaint and collect the relevant information (e.g. in case of complaining the landlord about overcharging the water and electricity charges, RVD will collect, among other things, information about the request of the landlord for water and electricity charges from the tenant). If needed, RVD will conduct site inspection and collect information from the complainee.
  • If, after investigation, the complaint does not involve committing the offences under the Ordinance, RVD will explain to the complainant and provide free advisory or mediatory services as appropriate.
  • If the complaint involves committing the offences under the Ordinance, RVD will seek legal advice from the Department of Justice and consider whether legal action is warranted depending on the circumstances (including the information and evidence collected) of the case.

 

For details, please visit the RVD webpage.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

m) 規管租賃的執法

 

業主與租客(綜合)條例》(第7章)第IVA部透過刑事檢控及民事程序,執行條例訂立的「標準租約」條款。

 

刑事檢控

 

業主在以下情況會觸犯法例:

  1. 在沒有合理辯解下,未有在規管租賃租期開始後的60日內向差餉物業估價署(估價署)提交租賃通知書(表格AR2)。一經定罪,可處第3級罰款(港幣10,000元),如有關罪行持續,可另每日罰款港幤200元。
  2. 向租客濫收雜費。首次定罪,可處第3級罰款(港幣10,000元),其後再被定罪,可處第4級罰款(港幣25,000元)。
  3. 向租客不當地收取條例第IVA部指明的公用設施及服務收費的付還。首次定罪,可處第3級罰款(港幣10,000元),其後再被定罪,可處第4級罰款(港幣25,000元)。
  4. 沒有在收到租客繳付租金後的7日內,給予該租客收據。一經定罪,可處第1級罰款(港幣2,000元)
  5. 非法剝奪租客對有關分間單位的佔用。首次定罪,可處罰款港幣500,000元及監禁12個月,其後再被定罪,可處罰款港幣1,000,000元及監禁3年)。

 

另外,估價署署長(署長)為施行租賃管制有關的職務,可就任何處所向任何人送達採用指明表格擬備的申報表或要求處所的業主或租客,提供任何參考文件。有關人等在以下情況亦會觸犯法例:

  1. 沒有合理辯解而拒絕遵從或忽略署長發出的要求。一經定罪,可處第3級罰款(港幣10,000元)及監禁3個月。
  2. 充作遵從署長發出的要求,而知道或罔顧所提供的詳情或參考文件、說出的言語或陳述等等在要項上屬虛假或具誤導性,即屬犯罪。一經定罪,可處第3級罰款(HK$10,000)及監禁3個月。

 

在民事程序中的法定權利

 

除了刑事檢控外,法例定明規管租賃租客一方在以下情況下,有權扣起應繳租金,或無需理會終止條款而終止租賃:

  1. 租約加蓋印花:如業主未能在收到租客已簽署的租約30天內交回加蓋印花的租賃協議對應本,租客可將租金扣起,暫不繳付,直至業主交回該對應本為止。
  2. 提供書面租約:如業主未能在租客以書面方式提出要求後的30天(指明限期)內,向租客送達反映有關口頭租賃內容的書面租賃,租客可選擇:
    • 將租金扣起,暫不繳付,直至業主按照該款送達租賃協議為止;或
    • 終止有關租賃,方法是在指明限期後的7日內,給予業主不少於30日的事先書面通知,而終止該租賃。
  3. 履行保養維修責任:如業主未能履行在條例表格7第3部分所訂明的保養及維修責任,租客可藉給予業主不少於30日的事先書面通知,終止有關租賃。

 

條例亦訂明業主有權在租客未能在到期日後的15日內繳付租金,或違反條例表格7第4部分列明的租客的責任,則可終止租約並重收物業而不用理會4年的租住期保障。

由於業主及租客的法定權利,均可在民事訴訟中彰顯(例如業主以欠租為由申請重收物業),雙方均有誘因要符合規管租賃的有關條款。

 

假如雙方就規管租賃的條款爭拗,而爭拗點並不涉及刑事罪行,雙方可使用估價署免費提供的諮詢或調解服務(詳看下文)。若雙方未能就爭拗達至共識,可循民事程序解決。原則是假如條例列明規則,而與雙方訂立的口頭或書面租約有所不同,以條例規定為準。

 

舉例來說,有一規管租賃的業主沒有根據條例向租客提供次期租賃,並試圖在完約時趕走租客。租客拒絕並繼續佔用該分間單位。如業主嘗試以租約過期為由重收物業,租客可援引條例第120AAW條。該條訂明,在這情況下業主須視為在要約期屆滿時已向租客作出次租期要約,而租客須視為已接受該次租期要約及在首期租賃屆滿時,獲授予次租期租賃。規管租賃的有關條款由是得以確立。

 

投訴渠道

 

如要投訴他人涉嫌違反條例的規定,可透過以下途徑向估價署提出:

  • 郵寄或親臨估價署:九龍長沙灣道303號長沙灣政府合署15樓
  • 電子郵件:enquiries@rvd.gov.hk
  • 電話熱線:2150 8303

 

估價署在接獲投訴後,會按以下程序處理:

  • 估價署會先向投訴人查詢投訴個案實情及收集有關資料(例如:若投訴規管租賃的業主濫收水電費,估價署會收集包括相關業主要求租客付還水電收費的資料)。如有需要,估價署會實地視察和向被投訴人收集資料。
  • 如經調查後認為投訴個案不涉觸犯條例下的罪行,估價署會向投訴人解釋,並按情況提供免費的諮詢或調解服務。
  • 如投訴個案涉及觸犯條例訂明的罪行,估價署會徵詢律政司的法律意見,並因應實際情況(包括所收集的資料及證據等)就個別個案考慮是否需要採取法律行動。

 

詳情可參閱估價署網頁

修訂日期: