Skip to main content

Q3. What are the proper steps to install electricity and water meters for calculating the utility charges for the sub-divided unit tenants?

 

Electricity

 

On electricity supply, the power companies will install individual meters for customers if prior consent from landlords and building management has been obtained, and that the units concerned comply with the relevant prerequisites and safety standards such as the installation of an individual door, and that the separate electrical installations and other facilities can meet the safety standards stipulated in the Electricity Ordinance (Cap. 406) and requirements of the Supply Rules of the power companies.

 

If the rental premises are sub-divided units equipped with electrical installations and separate meters, landlords' consent will be required to modify the existing electrical installations to meet the safety standards stipulated in the Electricity Ordinance and the requirements of the Supply Rules before individual meters can be installed.

 

In addition, meters must be connected to the riser which supplies electricity in a building and be installed in the common areas to facilitate meter reading by the staff of the power companies. Therefore, before applying for individual meters, tenants of sub-divided units should identify suitable locations in the common areas of the buildings for installing meters and obtain the consent of building management for the allocation of space for meter installation.

 

The Hongkong Electric has launched an SDU (subdivided unit) Rewiring Subsidy Programme subsidizing eligible households in subdivided units to rewire and install individual tariff meters. The applicant shall obtain the prior consent of every household in the flat, the owner of the flat and the Building Owners’ Corporations. Meanwhile, the CLP Power has released a similar scheme for owners as applicants. For details, please visit their websites:

Hongkong Electric SDU Rewiring Subsidy Scheme

CLP Power Rewiring Works for Subdivided Units

 

Water

 

As regards installation of water meters, if the relevant unit has a proper postal address to ensure that letters from the Water Supplies Department (WSD) such as notices and water bills can be posted to the occupier, the occupier may apply for a separate water meter from the WSD. The following factors will also be taken into account by the WSD when processing the applications:

  • Whether the premises can be accessed without passing through any area occupied by others to ensure that the Water Authority can enter the premises directly for inspection or carrying out other relevant duties in case of any problem of the inside service;
  • Whether the premises have proper drainage systems to ensure that no flooding will occur in case of inside service fault; and
  • Whether the application satisfies the requirements of the Waterworks Ordinance. For example, the applicant is required to accept responsibility for the custody and maintenance of inside service, and submit the plumbing proposal in respect of the inside service etc.

 

Landlords or tenants may also consider applying to the WSD for the installation of separate water meters for sub-divided units to enable tenants to pay water charges based on their water consumption.

 

For subdivided units which have separate plumbing systems for individual units installed, the landlord can apply for a pilot scheme with streamlined procedures to facilitate the installation of the WSD’s water meter. After approval, water supplied to individual subdivided units will be charged according to the schedule for domestic consumers as stipulated in the Waterworks Regulations. For more details, please visit the WSD webpage on Pilot Scheme for Installation of Separate Water Meters for Subdivided Units.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

Q3. 為分間單位租戶安裝電錶及水錶以計算費用,有甚麼手續?

 

電費

 

在電力供應方面,電力公司為用戶安裝獨立電錶,必須要得到業主及大廈管理人同意,而單位必須要符合有關的先決條件及安全標準,例如單位設有獨立門戶,以及獨立電力裝置及其他設施能符合《電力條例》(第406章)規定的安全標準及電力公司《供電則例》的要求。

 

若租住單位為分間單位,由於原本單位已設有電力裝置及獨立電錶,必須先獲得單位業主同意改動現有的電力裝置,以符合《電力條例》規定的安全標準及《供電則例》的要求,才可安裝獨立電錶。

 

此外,電錶必須接駁至供應大廈電力的上升總線,並且安裝在大廈的公共地方,以便電力公司人員抄讀電錶。因此分間單位租客在申請安裝獨立電錶前,必須要在大廈公共地方找出安裝電錶的位置,亦要得到大廈管理人同意騰出空間安裝電錶。

 

港燈推出了一項「劏房重鋪線路資助計劃」,旨在資助合資格的分間單位家庭重鋪電力線路以安裝港燈獨立電表。作為分間單位租戶的申請人,須事前取得單位內所有其他租戶、單位業主和業主立案法團的同意。同時,中電亦推出了類似計劃,供業主申請。詳情請參閱港燈及中電的網頁:

港燈「劏房重鋪線路資助計劃」

中電「資助劏房單位重鋪電線」

 

水費

 

至於安裝水錶,若有關居所有正式的郵寄地址,確保水務署函件例如通告和水費單等可寄達,住戶便可向水務署申請安裝獨立水錶,水務署於審批申請時會同時考慮以下因素:

  • 該處所是否設有能夠不需經由別人佔用範圍的通道進入,以確保一旦它的內部供水系統出現任何問題時,水務監督便可直接進入進行檢查及其他相關職務;
  • 該處所是否設有妥善的排水系統,以確保它不會因內部供水系統故障而引致水浸問題;及
  • 該申請是否符合《水務設施條例》要求,例如申請人需要保證承受保管與保養內部供水系統的責任,提交有關該內部供水系統的建議等。

 

為避免在收回水費時發生爭議,分間單位業主應與各租客協定一套合適的水費分攤方法。業主或租客也可考慮向水務署申請為分間單位安裝獨立水錶,以便租客按其用水量繳交水費。

 

假如分間單位已為每個個別單位提供獨立供水系統,業主可參加先導計劃,旨在簡化程序,以方便合資格分間單位,安裝水務署的水錶。獲批准後,分間單位的供水便可按《水務設施規例》所規定的住宅用戶收費附表收費。詳情請參閱水務署網頁「分間單位安裝獨立水錶的先導計劃」。

修訂日期: