Skip to main content

h) Submission of Notice of Tenancy and Stamping of Tenancy Agreement

 

Once a tenancy agreement of a regulated tenancy has been offered by the landlord and signed by the tenant (or endorsed by the tenant in case of an oral tenancy), the landlord is obliged to submit the Notice of Tenancy to the Commissioner of Rating and Valuation (Commissioner) and stamp the Tenancy Agreement at the Inland Revenue Department (“IRD”).  The responsibility to submit the Notice of Tenancy also applies to landlords offering oral tenancies regulated by Part IVA of the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance (Cap. 7).

 

Please note that the tenancies concerned are still regulated by the Ordinance if the landlord fails to submit the Notice of Tenancy or stamp the tenancy agreement. On the contrary, there might be legal consequences for landlords who fail to do so.

 

Notice of Tenancy (Form AR2)

 

The landlord must, within 60 days after the term of a regulated tenancy (including a first term tenancy and a second term tenancy) commences or is taken to commence under the Ordinance, submit a completed Notice of Tenancy (Form AR2) to notify the Commissioner of the particulars of the tenancy.

 

If the landlord, without reasonable excuse, refuses or neglects to comply with this requirement, the landlord commits an offence and is liable on conviction to a fine at level 3 (HK$10,000), and in the case of a continuing offence, to a further fine of HK$200 for each day during which the offence continues. Moreover, the landlord may not maintain an action to recover any rent under the tenancy unless the notice is endorsed by the Commissioner.

 

On receiving the notice, the Commissioner must endorse the notice with the date of its receipt, and notify the landlord and tenant of the receipt of the notice.

 

Stamping of Tenancy

 

The landlord must, after receiving the tenancy agreement signed by the tenant, arrange for the tenancy agreement to be stamped under the Stamp Duty Ordinance (Cap. 117) and return to the tenant a counterpart of the stamped tenancy agreement.

 

If the landlord fails to return the counterpart of the stamped tenancy agreement, the tenant may withhold the payment of rent until the landlord has done so. However, if the landlord has eventually returned the said counterpart, the tenant must pay back, free of interest, any rent withheld to the landlord within 15 days after receipt of the counterpart.

 

The Ordinance stipulates that the stamp duty on the tenancy agreement of regulated tenancies is to be borne by the landlord solely.

 

Compared with Non-Regulated Residential Tenancies

 

The requirement of noticing the Commissioner in the regulation is more stringent than the one required for common residential tenancies that are not regulated by Part IVA of the Ordinance. The landlord in a non-regulated tenancy is also required to submit a Notice of New Letting or Renewal Agreement (Form CR109) to the Commissioner. Similarly, the landlord shall not be entitled to maintain an action to recover any rent under the tenancy unless the notice is endorsed by the Commissioner. However, failure to submit the notice does not involve criminal offences.  The notice may be lodged within 1 month of the tenancy term without charge, or upon payment to the Commissioner of a fee at any time.

 

As for the regulation on the stamping of tenancies, the requirement to the landlord is more stringent than common residential tenancies. As far as the concern of non-regulated tenancies, the landlord, tenant and any other persons signing the tenancy agreement are liable for payment of stamp duty. Failure to return the counterpart of the stamped tenancy agreement might not be a justifiable reason for the tenant to withhold the payment of rent.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

h) 提交租賃通知書及為租約加蓋印花

 

當租客簽訂了業主就規管租賃提供的租約(如屬口頭租賃,則租客同意了該租賃協議),業主有責任向差餉物業估價署署長(署長)遞交租賃通知書,及安排將租賃協議交送稅務局加蓋印花。遞交租賃通知書的責任,同樣適用於條例規管的口頭租賃。

請注意,就算業主沒有遞交租賃通知書,或沒有將租約加蓋印花,有關租賃仍然受到《業主與租客(綜合)條例》(第7章)第IVA部規管,反而業主還有可能需要面對有關的法律後果。

 

租賃通知書(AR2表格)

 

業主須在有關租賃(包括首期租賃及次期租賃)的租期開始後的60日內,或根據條例視為的租期開始後的60日內,向署長提交租賃通知書(AR2表格),以通知署長該租賃的詳情。

 

如業主沒有合理辯解而拒絕遵從或忽略遵從此項規定,該業主即屬犯罪,一經定罪,可處第3 級罰款(港幣10,000元),如有關罪行是持續罪行,則可就該罪行持續期間的每一日,另處罰款港幣200元。此外,除非有關的通知書獲署長批署,否則業主不得採取法律行動,追收有關租賃下的租金。

 

署長在接獲通知書後,須在其上批署接獲該通知書的日期,及通知業主及租客已接獲該通知書一事。

 

租約加蓋印花

 

業主在收到經租客簽署的屬規管租賃的租賃協議後,須安排將該租賃協議根據《印花稅條例》(第117章)加蓋印花,及在30日內,將經雙方簽署並加蓋印花的該租賃協議對應本,交回租客。

 

如業主沒有交回加蓋印花的租賃協議對應本,租客可將租金扣起,暫不繳付,直至業主交回該對應本為止。然而,如業主最終交回加蓋印花的租賃協議對應本予租客,租客須於收到該對應本後的15日內,免息向業主繳回被扣起而暫不繳付的租金。

條例訂明,就屬規管租賃的租賃協議徵收的印花稅,須由業主單獨承擔。

 

與不受規管住宅租賃比較

 

針對租賃通知書的規定,規管租賃與不受條例IVA部規管的其他住宅租賃相比,較為嚴格。業主就非規管住宅租賃,亦須向署長提交新租出或重訂協議通知書(CR109表格) ,通知書未有獲署長批署亦不得採取法律行動,追收有關租賃的租金。但是,沒有提交該通知書不涉犯罪,業主可在租期開始後一個月內遞交而無需繳費,在其他時交提交則會衍生費用。

 

針對租約加蓋印花的規定,對業主的規管亦較一般住宅租賃嚴格。就非規管住宅租賃而言,業主、租客及任何其他簽立租約的人士均有責任繳付印花稅。業主沒有交回加蓋印花的租賃協議對應本,亦不一定成為租客扣起租金的理由。

修訂日期: