Skip to main content

Q1. A tenancy on a subdivided unit was created orally or by conduct with rent paid periodically and no written tenancy had ever been signed. Are the tenancy regulations applicable?

 

Yes. A tenancy whose term is defined by reference to the period for payment of rent, rather than by a fixed period expressly stated in the agreement, is a periodic tenancy, whether oral or in writing. Periodic tenancy extends indefinitely from period to period until it is terminated by a notice to quit given by one party to the other. The tenancy regulations on subdivided units are applicable to such tenancy.

 

If a period of the tenancy in question straddles the material date of Part IVA of the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance (Cap. 7), i.e., 22 January 2022, the tenancy is taken to be the first term tenancy and the term of the tenancy is taken to be 2 years commencing on the date immediately after the expiry of the period that straddles 22 January 2022. In usual terms, that is the first rent payment day after the material date of the Ordinance.

 

If the periodic tenancy commences on or after 22 January 2022, it is taken to be the first term tenancy and the term of the tenancy is taken to be 2 years commencing on (i) the date of the creation of the tenancy, or (ii) a later date agreed by the parties for the commencement of the tenancy.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

Q1. 沒有簽訂任何書面租約的分間單位租賃,以口頭或每一周期繳付租金的行為訂立。租賃規管是否適用?

 

條例適用於這類租賃。租賃期以交租周期而非協議列明的固定日期為準者,不論協議是以口頭或書面訂立,是為定期租賃。定期租賃無限期順延,直至租賃其中一方向對方送達遷出通知。針對分間單位的租賃規管適用於此等租賃。

 

假如租賃的某個周期跨越《業主與租客(綜合)條例》(第7章)第IVA部生效日2022年1月22日,須視為首期租賃,租期兩年,由跨越條例生效日的周期完結後首天起租,一般而言當日亦是條例生效後的首個交租日。

 

假如該定期租賃是在2022年1月22日或以後開始,有關租賃的租期,須視為2年,由(i)該租賃產生的日期或(ii)根據租約雙方議定一個較後的起租日期開始。

修訂日期: