Skip to main content

c) Transitional Arrangements

 

Transitional arrangements for fixed-term and periodic tenancies under Part IVA of the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance (Cap. 7) are different.

 

Fixed-term tenancy is a tenancy agreement for a certain term (e.g. for two years). At common law a tenancy for a fixed term expires automatically at the end of that term and, subject to any agreement between the parties to the contrary, is determined by the effluxion of time alone, without the need for any other act or notice.

 

Periodic tenancy is a tenancy by the period (e.g. weekly tenancy and monthly tenancy) and does not expire without notice at the end of the period or at the end of each period, there being not a reletting at the beginning of every week or period but a springing interest which arises and which is determined only by proper notice to quit.

 

Both periodic and fixed-term tenancies can be created orally or in writing.

 

Tenancies commenced before the material date

 

Transitional arrangement for fixed-term tenancies commenced before 22 January 2022: The terms as well as rights and obligations of the landlord and the tenant under fixed-term tenancy agreements are not regulated.

 

Transitional arrangement for periodic tenancies commenced before 22 January 2022: The arrangement is governed by section 120AAQ of the Ordinance which provides for “deemed first term tenancy in certain circumstances”:

  1. If a period of the tenancy commences (usually taken as the monthly rent payment date) on 22 January 2022, the tenancy is taken to be a first term tenancy, and the term of the tenancy is taken to be 2 years commencing on 22 January 2022. The rent agreed by the parties to be payable by the tenant at the commencement of the reference period is taken to be the rent for the first term tenancy.
  2. If a period of the tenancy straddles 22 January 2022, the tenancy is taken to be a first term tenancy and the term of the tenancy is taken to be 2 years commencing on the date immediately after the expiry of the period that straddles 22 January 2022. Similarly, the rent agreed by the parties to be payable by the tenant at the commencement of the reference period is taken to be the rent for the first term tenancy.

 

 

Tenancies commenced on or after the material date

 

A fixed-term tenancy for a term of 2 years commencing on or after 22 January 2022, will be taken to be the first term tenancy regulated by the Ordinance.

 

A tenancy that purports to be (i) a periodic tenancy or (ii) a tenancy for a term other than of 2 years, commencing on or after 22 January 2022 is taken to be a first term tenancy:

  1. the term of the tenancy is taken to be 2 years commencing on (i) the date of the creation of the tenancy; or (ii) a later date agreed by the parties for the commencement of the tenancy; and
  2. the rent agreed by the parties to be payable by the tenant at the commencement of the tenancy is taken to be the rent for the first term tenancy.

 

The following examples, applicable to both written and oral tenancies, demonstrate when the regulated first term tenancies would commence:

  1. A fixed-term tenancy commencing on 1 January 2022: The tenancy, the term and the rent are not regulated by the Ordinance.
  2. A fixed-term tenancy commencing on or after 22 January 2022: The first regulated term of 2 years would commence with the beginning of the tenancy term, no matter how long the term is provided in the tenancy agreements. The rent agreed by the parties to be payable at the commencement of the tenancy is taken to be the rent of the first term tenancy.
  3. A periodic (monthly) tenancy commencing on 1 December 2021: The first regulated term of 2 years commenced on 1 February 2022, the date immediately after the expiry of the period (1 January – 31 January 2022) that straddles the material date (22 January 2022). In the usual term, that is the first rent payment day after the material date of the Ordinance. The rent agreed by the parties to be payable by the tenant at the commencement of the straddling period (i.e., 1 January 2022) is taken to be the rent of the first term tenancy.
  4. A periodic (monthly) tenancy commencing on 22 December 2021: The first regulated term of 2 years commenced on 22 January 2022, since a period of the tenancy (22 January – 21 February 2022) commenced exactly on the material date of the Ordinance. The rent agreed by the parties to be payable by the tenant at the commencement of that period (i.e., 22 January 2022) is taken to be the rent of the first term tenancy.
  5. A periodic (monthly) tenancy commencing on or after 22 January 2022: The first regulated term of 2 years commenced with the beginning of the tenancy term. The rent agreed by the parties to be payable at the commencement of the tenancy is taken to be the rent of the first term tenancy.
Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

c) 过渡安排

 

业主与租客(综合)条例》(第7章)第IVA部的过渡安排,因应固定租期租赁及定期租赁有所不同。

 

固定租期租赁协议有确定租期(例如2年)的租赁协议。在普通法下,除租赁各方另有协议外,固定租期的租赁在租期结束时自动期满,并仅仅以期限届满终止,并不需要任何其他作为或通知。

 

定期租约(例如按周计算的租约和按月计算的租约)在租约期限完结或在每一个期限完结时,未经通知,租约不视为届满,亦不会在每星期或每期间的初始时构成续租,但由此而引发的权益可藉正常程序发出迁出通知书来终止。

 

固定租期租赁及定期租赁均可以口头或书面立约。

 

在条例生效日前起租的租赁:

 

于2022年1月22日之前起租的固定租期租赁过渡安排:租期、业主和租客双方的权责均不受修例规管。

 

于2022年1月22日之前起租的定期租赁过渡安排:租赁根据条例第120AAQ条,「在某些情况下当作为首期租赁」:

  1. 如租赁的某个周期在条例生效日2022年1月22 日开始(租赁双方多以此为交租日),须视为首期租赁,租期两年,由2022年1月22日当天起租。双方议定在当天租客应缴付的租金值,须视为首期租赁的租金水平;
  2. 如租赁的某个周期跨越条例生效日2022年1月22 日,须视为首期租赁,租期两年,由跨越条例生效日的周期完结后首天起租。双方议定在跨越条例生效日的周期开始时租客应缴付的租金值,须视为首期租赁的租金水平。

 

在条例生效日或以后起租的租赁:

 

在2022年1月22日或以后起租为期2年的固定租期租赁,即为条例订明的首期规管租赁。

 

如有关租赁属其意是在条例生效当日(2022年1月22日)或之后开始的(i) 定期租赁或(ii) 租期并非2年的固定定期租赁,亦会被当作为首期租赁:

  1. 有关租赁的租期,须视为2年,由(i)该租赁产生的日期或(ii)根据租约双方议定一个较后的起租日期开始;及
  2. 双方议定在该租赁开始时租客应缴付的租金值,须视为首期租赁的租金水平。

 

以下举例首期规管租赁何时展开,书面及口头订立租约同样适用:

  1. 在2022年1月1日起租的固定租期租约:租赁、租期、租金均不受条例规管。
  2. 在2022年1月22日或以后起租的固定租期租约:不论租约列明的租期如何,为期2年首期规管租赁于租约起租时开始。租赁双方同意于租期开始时须缴付的租金值,须视为首期租赁租金水平。
  3. 在2021年12月1 日起租的月租定期租约:跨越条例生效日的周期(2022年1月1日至1月31日)完结的翌日即2022年2月1日,一般而言亦是条例生效后的首个交租日,开始为期2年的首期规管租赁。租赁双方同意于该跨越周期起始时(即2022年1月1日) 须缴付的租金值,须视为首期租赁租金水平。
  4. 在2021年12月22日起租的月租定期租约:由于其中一周期(2022年1月22日至2月21日)的首日刚好是条例生效日2022年1 月22日,当日开始为期2年的首期规管租赁。租赁双方同意于该周期起始时(即2022年1月22日)须缴付的租金值,须视为首期租赁租金水平。
  5. 在2022年1月22日或以后起租的月租定期租约:为期2年的首期规管租赁,与租期同时开始。租赁双方同意于租期开始时须缴付的租金值,须视为首期租赁租金水平。
修订日期: