Skip to main content

l) Overcharging Fees and Charges

 

Part IVA of the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance (Cap. 7) prohibits landlords from charging non-permitted fees and overcharging tenants on certain utility charges such as water charges and electricity charges.

 

Prohibition on charging non-permitted fees

 

A landlord commits an offence if the landlord requires the tenant to pay, or the landlord otherwise receives from the tenant, any money in relation to the tenancy other than those falling within the following types:

  1. rents;
  2. rental deposits;
  3. reimbursement of charges for any of the specified utilities and services payable by the tenant under the tenancy;
  4. damages for the tenant’s breach of the tenancy.

 

On a person’s conviction, the magistrate may, in addition to imposing a fine, order the person to repay to the tenant any money received from the tenant other than that the person is entitled or permitted to receive.

 

Prohibition on overcharging specified utilities and services

 

In Part IVA of the Ordinance, “specified utilities and services” means water, electricity, gas and communication services.

 

Where the charges for any of the specified utilities and services for a subdivided unit incurred by a tenant are not independently billed by the relevant authorities or service providers, the landlord may require the tenant to pay for the reimbursement of the charges as a separate payment from the rent. In doing so, the landlord commits an offence unless the following are observed:

  1. the landlord is the payer named in the bills covering the charges;
  2. copies of the bills are produced by the landlord to the tenant when the landlord requires the payment; and
  3. the landlord has provided an account in writing to the tenant showing:
    1. how the amounts under the bills (billed amount) are apportioned for the different parts (of which the subdivided unit is one) forming the premises to which the bills relate; and
    2. that the aggregate of the apportioned amounts does not exceed the billed amounts.

 

The landlord commits an offence if the landlord requires the tenant to pay for, or the landlord otherwise receives from the tenant, the reimbursement of the charges for any of the specified utilities and services for the subdivided unit at a sum exceeding the apportioned amount for the subdivided unit as shown in the account provided to the tenant.

 

Penalties

 

A person who commits any of the above offences is liable on a first conviction to a fine at level 3 (currently HK$10,000), and on a second or subsequent conviction to a fine at level 4 (currently HK$25,000). On a person’s conviction, the magistrate may also order the person to repay to the tenant any money received from the tenant other than that the person is entitled or permitted to receive.

 

The mistaken belief of the person charged with the offences above as to the amount the person is entitled or permitted to receive is not a defence.

 

Waterworks Regulations

 

Further, in light of the enactment of the Waterworks (Waterworks Regulations) (Amendment) Ordinance 2021, the amended Regulation 47 of the Waterworks Regulations only allows a registered consumer of the Water Supplies Department (“WSD”) (usually the landlords) to recover from the occupants of the premises (usually the tenants) the water charge paid to the WSD.

 

The amendment, which has taken effect, strengthens the protection of tenants of sub-divided units from being overcharged for water. If the amount recovered by the landlord exceeds the water charge paid to the WSD, the landlord shall be guilty of an offence. Offenders are liable to a maximum fine of HK$10,000.

     

The WSD encourages the public to report unscrupulous landlords for overcharging tenants of sub-divided units for water. A relevant option has been available under its enquiry hotline on 2824 5000. Meanwhile, the WSD will continue to conduct proactive patrols in suspected sub-divided units to investigate any situation of overcharging for the use of water. Prosecutions will be instituted should there be sufficient evidence.

     

The WSD website provides useful information about the avoidance of water overcharge situations for landlords and tenants of sub-divided units.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

l) 濫收費用

 

業主與租客(綜合)條例》(第7章)第IVA部禁止業主向租客,收取許可項目以外的收費或濫收水、電等指明公用設施收費。

 

禁止徵收未經可收費

 

如業主要求租客就有關租賃支付不屬以下種類的款項,或就有關租賃以其他方式從租客收取不屬以下種類的款項,即屬犯罪:

  1. 租金;
  2. 租金按金;
  3. 付還根據該租賃規定租客應繳付的任何指明公用設施及服務的收費;
  4. 因租客違反該租賃引致的損害賠償。

 

禁止濫收指明公用設施及服務費用

 

條例IVA部列明,公用設施及服務是指水、電、煤氣或石油氣及通訊服務。

 

如租客,就該分間單位的任何指明公用設施及服務而承擔的收費,不獲有關當局或服務提供者發出獨立繳費單,則業主可求租客繳付有關收費的付還或以其他方式從租客收取有關收費的付還,作為租金以外的獨立付款。然而,收取有關費用時,業主若不依從以下各點,即屬犯罪:

  1. 業主是涵蓋有關收費的各繳費單上指名的支付人;
  2. 當業主要求付款時,業主有向租客出示該等繳費單副本;及
  3. 業主已向租客提供書面帳目,顯示:
    1. 該等繳費單的款額(繳費款額),如何就該等繳費單關乎的處所的不同組成部分(其中有關分間單位屬一部分)分攤;及
    2. 各經分攤款額的總和,不超過繳費款額。

 

業主如要求租客繳付分間單位的任何指明公用設施及服務的收費的付還,或以其他方式從租客收取該等收費的付還,而所涉款項超過在向租客提供的帳目中就有關分間單位顯示的經分攤款額,該業主即屬犯罪。

 

罰則

 

干犯以上所訂罪行的人,如屬首次定罪,可處第3級罰款(現時為港幣$10,000);如屬第二次或其後再被定罪,可處第4級罰款(現時為港幣$25,000)。若該人已從租客收取有關款項,裁判官還可命令該人向租客付還該人有權收取或准許收取以外的款額。

 

就以上罪行,被檢控的人不得以該人錯誤相信本身有權或獲准許收取有關款額,作為免責辯護。

 

水務設施規例

 

因應通過的《2021年水務設施(水務設施規例)(修訂)條例》,經修訂後的《水務設施規例》第47條規定水務署的註冊用戶(通常為業主)就供水方面只可向其處所的佔用人(通常為租客)收回繳交給水務署的水費。有關修訂加強保障分間單位租客免被濫收水費,並已經生效。若業主向其租客收取的費用超過此金額,即屬違法。違規者一經定罪,最高可處罰款港幣10,000元。

 

水務署鼓勵市民就不良業主向分間單位租客濫收水費作出舉報,並已在客戶服務熱線2824 5000提供有關選項。同時,水務署會繼續主動巡查懷疑的分間單位,調查有否濫收水費的情況,若有足夠證據可提出檢控。

 

水務署網頁為分間單位的業主和租客提供有關避免濫收水費的實用資訊。

修訂日期: