Skip to main content

n) Regulated tenancy as Sub-tenancy

 

At times, the regulated tenancy for a subdivided unit is a sub-lease created out of another tenancy. In such cases, the termination of a tenancy superior to the regulated tenancy (the head lease or superior lease) would destroy the leasehold estate under the regulated sub-lease (or sub-tenancy). Notwithstanding that the regulated sub-lease has not yet expired, the sub-tenant will have no legal right or interest to possess and occupy the property vis-à-vis the landlord and must deliver up vacant possession of the subdivided unit. The general rule of the relationship between head lease and sub-lease applies (see “Subletting”).

 

Recover the possession of the subdivided unit

 

A superior landlord who applies to the court for possession of the subdivided unit must post the Notice to Recover Possession on the main door or entrance to the subdivided unit (or the premises of which the subdivided unit forms part) on 3 consecutive days. Such notice is taken to be an effective notice served on the sub-tenant. Unless the sub-tenant has handed over the subdivided unit back to the landlord, the court will not grant leave to issue a writ of possession to enforce the order before the expiry of a period of 60 days beginning on the day immediately after the last day on which the notice is posted. In other words, the sub-tenants are granted a grace period of 63 days for moving out from subdivided units to be repossessed.

 

Claim compensation from the sub-tenant

 

In case the tenant of the regulated tenancy (sub-tenant) fails to hand over the subdivided unit back to the landlord on the date the regulated tenancy is terminated (termination date), the superior landlord who terminates the head lease may recover compensation from the sub-tenant as a civil debt. If the superior landlord waives the right to recover the compensation in writing, the landlord of the regulated tenancy (sub-landlord) may do so.

 

The compensation amount is calculated by the monthly rent payable by the sub-tenant under the regulated tenancy times the number of months covering the period between the termination date and the date on which the sub-tenant hands over the subdivided unit back to the landlord. If the number of months covering the period is not an integer, it is to be rounded down to the integer.

 

The compensation recoverable must be paid by the sub-tenant within 15 days after the date on which the sub-tenant hands over the subdivided unit back to the superior landlord or sub-landlord.

 

Beyond the compensation, however, the right of superior landlords or sub-landlords to make further claims to sub-tenants, sureties or guarantors for the sub-tenants and other occupiers under common law rules or equitable principles is abrogated.

 

Costs

 

Notwithstanding the usual practice of “costs follow the events” in civil proceedings, subject to certain exceptions the court is not allowed to make any order to costs in favour of the superior landlord or sub-landlord (whichever is applicable) against the sub-tenant in the following proceedings:

  • proceedings commenced by the superior landlord to recover possession of the subdivided unit;
  • proceedings commenced by the superior landlord or sub-landlord to claim the compensation from the sub-tenant.

 

However, if the sub-tenant has conducted the case in a frivolous or vexatious manner, or in respect of the costs of any counterclaim made by the sub-tenant in the above proceedings, the rule will not apply.

 

Also, no interest on all or any part of the compensation may be included in the sum for which judgment is given in favour of the superior landlord or sub-landlord (whichever is applicable) against the sub-tenant in the above proceedings.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

n) 作為分租租賃的規管租賃

 

有時分間單位的規管租賃,是產生自另一租賃的分租租賃。在這情況下,某項在規管租賃其上的租賃(上級租賃)終止時,亦會摧毁分租租契下的租賃產業權。就算受規管的次級租賃仍未到期,分租客對業主來說是沒有擁有和佔用物業的法律權利或權益,分租客必須把物業交回。上級租賃與分租租賃關係的通則(參看「分租」),亦適用於此。

 

重收分間單位

 

上級業主向法院申請對該分間單位的管有時,須連續3日,在分間單位(或分間單位屬其組成部分的處所)的大門或入口,張貼收回管有通知書。該通知書須視為有效送達分租客的通知書。除非分租客已交回有關分間單位,否則法庭會在張貼有關通知書的最後一日的翌日起計的60日期間屆滿前,不會批出管有令狀的許可,作強制執行有關命令之用。換句話說,條例予以分租客63天寛限期遷出被重收的分間單位。

 

向分租客申索賠償

 

如在該規管租賃被終止的日期(終止日期)當日,租客(分租客)沒有交回該分間單位,終止上級租賃的上級業主,可以追討民事債項的方式,向分租客追討賠償。如上級業主以書面方式放棄追討賠償的權利,有關規管租賃的業主(下級業主)亦可追討。

 

有關賠償的計算方法為分租客在緊接終止日期前應繳付的每月租金,乘以自終止日期的翌日起至分租客交回該分間單位的日期為止所涵蓋的月份數目。如該月份數目並非整數,則須下捨至最接近的整數。

 

分租客在交回有關分間單位的日期後15日內,向上級業主或下級業主支付有關可追討的賠償。

 

然而在賠償以外,上級業主或下級業主根據普通法規則或衡平法原則,針對分租客、分租客的保證人或擔保人、及其他佔用人提出進一步申索的權利,則予廢止

 

訟費

 

雖然一般民事程序大致奉行「訟費須視乎訴訟結果而定」的慣例,但撇除例外情況,法庭在以下法律程序中,不得針對分租客而作出有利於上級業主或下級業主(視何者適用而定)的訟費命令:

  • 由上級業主展開,以收回對有關分間單位的管有的法律程序;
  • 由上級業主或下級業主展開,以向分租客申索賠償的法律程序。

 

然而,如分租客在指明法律程序中,以瑣屑無聊或無理取鬧的方式進行訴訟,或就分租客在以上程序中作出反申索的訟費,此規定並不適用。

 

此外,針對分租客獲判勝訴的判令而言,在該判令獲得的款項中,不得包括就賠償的全部或部分而給予的利息。

修訂日期: