Skip to main content

9. The covenants, terms and conditions in the Government leases of some premises do not allow the occupiers to let for residential use (Examples: Registered or unregistered squatters, roof-top unauthorized building works, industrial buildings, container houses, or caravans on farmland). Are tenancy agreements on such premises legally binding?

Whilst a tenancy in non-compliance with the Government lease is not strictly forbidden, entering into such kind of tenancy arrangements is obviously not without risks and problems.

 

Many of these premises are inherently not suitable for habitation, posing dangers and threats to the safety of the occupants.

 

If the tenant is aware of the contravention at the time when the tenancy agreement was entered into, he cannot later use this as a ground to dispute the validity of the tenancy agreement or to refuse to pay rent to the landlord.

 

Breach of the user restriction of the Government lease may trigger the Government exercising its right of re-entry under the Government lease, or the statutory right of re-entry or power to vest the relevant interest under the Government Rights (Re-entry and Vesting Remedies) Ordinance (Cap. 126), in which case the landlord will cease to be the owner immediately.

 

The landlord and the tenant should also be aware that they are most likely in breach of the deed of mutual covenant of the building, if any, and may be liable in legal action by the management company, the incorporated owners (if any) or other owners of the building.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

9. 部份处所的地契中载有承诺、条款及细则不容许占用人出租作住宅用途 (例如:已登记或非登记寮屋、天台违例建筑物、工业大厦、货柜屋或农地上的帐篷车)。涉及这类处所的租约具法律约束力吗?

纵使严格来说不符合地契的租约不被禁止,但订立这样的租赁安排显然并非没有风险和问题。

 

这些处所很多在本质上都不适合居住,对占用人的安全构成危险和威胁。

 

如果租客在定立租约时以知悉相关违例事项,以后便不可藉此争议租约的有效性或向业主缴交租金。

 

违反地契中的用途限制有可能促使政府行使地契中的重收权,或根据香港法例第126章《政府土地权(重收及转归补救)条例》行使法例赋予的重收权或将有关土地权益转归予政府,令业主立即失去其物业拥有人的身份。

 

业主和租客亦必须留意他们极有可能已违反大厦公契,并有可能要在大厦管理公司、业主立案法团 (如有) 或其他大厦业主采取的法律行动中承担责任。

修订日期: