Skip to main content

Q2. Can I draft my own regulated tenancy agreement? What are the essential terms of the tenancy agreement?

 

Yes. The template is for general reference only. The landlord and tenant may use and adapt the template with modifications as appropriate, or enter into a tenancy agreement on their own terms, as long as there is no conflict or inconsistency with the mandatory terms of a regulated tenancy:

  • Tenancy term: The term of regulated tenancies must be 2 years. Even if a tenancy purports to be a tenancy for a term other than 2 years, the term of the tenancy is taken to be 2 years (see Section 120AAQ);
  • Break clause for the landlord: Any break clause allowing a landlord to terminate the tenancy early is void and has no effect (see Section 120AAQ);
  • Break clause for the tenant: Any break clause allowing a tenant to terminate the tenancy at a predetermined date later than the first day of the second year of the term, or the absence of a break clause for the tenant, will be taken as having one allowing the tenant to terminate the tenancy on the first day of the second year of the term with a notice period of 30 days (see Section AAZH);
  • Landlord’s right of re-entry: Any condition for forfeiture (other than those set out in Part 4 of Schedule 7) provided in the tenancy is void and has no effect (see Section 120AAZF, Part 4 of Schedule 7);
  • Amount of rental deposit: The rental deposit payable by the tenant may not be more than 2 months’ rent under the tenancy (see Section 120AAZC(2));
  • Return of rental deposit: The rental deposit should be returned, free of interest, no later than the expiry of 7 days after the tenant’s delivery of vacant possession of the subdivided unit to the landlord (see Section 120AAZC(4));
  • Repair and maintenance responsibilities: The repair and maintenance responsibilities of the facilities and fixtures set out in Part 2 of Schedule 7 are to be borne by the landlord (see Section 5 of Schedule 7);
  • Payment of money of certain types: The landlord cannot require the tenant to pay any money in relation to the tenancy other than specified items (see Section 120AAZL);
  • Payment for specified utilities and services: The landlord cannot require the tenant to pay for reimbursement of utility and service charges as a separate payment from the rent, where the aggregation of the amount exceeds the amount under the bills issued by the relevant authorities (see Section 120AAZM);
  • Stamp duty: The stamp duty on the tenancy agreement is to be borne by the landlord solely. It is the responsibility of the landlord to arrange for the stamping of the agreement under the Stamp Duty Ordinance ( 117) (see Section 2 of Schedule 7).

 

If the landlord enforces the tenancy terms that are inconsistent or in conflict with those of mandatory terms in a regulated tenancy, depending on the terms, in addition to the potential liability for criminal offences (e.g., overcharging for reimbursement of utility and service charges), the resulting disputes may also be resolved in civil proceedings. Tenancy terms that are inconsistent with mandatory terms stipulated in the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance (Cap. 7) will be deemed void or equivalent to the relevant terms stipulated in the Ordinance.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

Q2. 我是否可自行草拟规管租约?有哪些重要条款需要注意?

 

可以。范本只作一般参考之用。业主及租客可使用模板并因应情况对模板作适当的修订,或自行订立租赁协议,唯不可抵触规管租赁的强制性条款或与其不一致:

  • 租期:标准租赁租期为2年,非2年期的租赁,亦会被须视为2年期的租赁(参阅第120AAQ条)。
  • 业主适用的退租条款:任何赋予业主提前解除租约的条款,均属作废及无效(参阅第120AAQ条);
  • 租客适用的退租条款:任何赋予租客在租期内某一时期退租的条款,只要可退日比租期第二年的首日为后,或者租约内没有供租客的退租条款,会被视作租客自租期第二年首日起可退租条款,租客须于退租日前30天或更早通知业主(参阅第120AAZH条)。
  • 业主重收处所权:任何供业主行使重收处所权之条件,不属条例附表7第4部所列者,均属作废及无效(参阅第120AAZF条)。
  • 租赁按金款额:租客应缴租赁按金,不能多于2个月租金款额(参阅第120AAZC(2)条);
  • 租赁按金付还:租赁按金须在租客于租期届满时或租期提早终止时向业主交还单位后7天内,在扣除应缴款项后,免息退回予租客(参阅第120AAZC(4) 条 )。
  • 处所维修保养责任:在条例附表7第2部分所列设施的维修保养责任,由业主承担(参阅附表7第5条)。
  • 支付不属指明的款项:附条例列明的款项类别以外,不得要求租客支付其他款项(参阅第120AAZL条)。
  • 支付公用设施及服务:要求租客在租金之外缴交付还公用设施及服务的收费,其总额不得高于有关当局或服务提供商向业主发出账单的应缴款额(参阅第120AAZM条);
  • 印花税:就租赁协议征收的印花税,须由业主单独承担。业主负责安排将租赁协议根据《印花税条例》(第117章)加盖印花(参阅附表7第2条)。

 

如果业主执行与《业主与租客(综合)条例》(第7章)抵触或不一致的条款,视条款而定,除了有机会触犯刑事罪行(例如收取高于法例规定的水、电、杂费),其衍生的争议也可能以民事诉讼裁决。租赁条款与条例订明的标准租赁条款有抵触者,会被视作无效或等同条例所列的有关条款。

修订日期: