Skip to main content

5. I have to maintain my two parents. Under what circumstances can I claim the “dependent parent allowance” or the additional dependent parent allowance”?

Under section 30 and section 30A of the Inland Revenue Ordinance, a taxpayer is eligible to claim a dependent parent/grandparent allowance (of $40,000 each) if the taxpayer or his/her spouse (not being a spouse living apart) maintain his/her own parents/grandparents or the spouse's parents/grandparents, who at any time in the year of assessment:

 

  • were ordinarily resident in Hong Kong; and
  • were aged 60 or more, or being under the age of 60, were eligible to claim an allowance under the Government's Disability Allowance Scheme; and
  • had either resided with the taxpayer and his/her spouse, otherwise than for full valuable consideration, for a continuous period of not less than 6 months, or had received from the taxpayer or his/her spouse not less than $12,000 in money towards the maintenance.

Taxpayers are eligible to claim an additional dependent parent/grandparent allowance (of $40,000 each) in respect of each dependent parent/grandparent who resided with them, otherwise than for full valuable consideration (i.e. without any payment or compensation), continuously throughout the year of assessment.

 

For the year of assessment 2015/16 onwards, a new dependent parent/ grandparent allowance is also granted to taxpayers maintaining dependent parents/grandparents who do not attain the age of 60 in the year of assessment, but on condition that the dependants:

 

  • are aged 55 or more but are under the age of 60 at any time during the year of assessment; and
  • are not eligible to claim an allowance under the Government's Disability Allowance Scheme throughout the year of assessment; and
  • are ordinarily residents in Hong Kong; and
  • have either resided with the taxpayers, otherwise than for full valuable consideration, for a continuous period of 6 months or have received from them or their spouses not less than $12,000 each in money towards their maintenance.

new additional dependent parent/grandparent allowance will also be granted if the dependant has resided with the taxpayer, otherwise than for full valuable consideration, continuously throughout the year of assessment. The rates of these two new allowances are $20,000 respectively.

 

"Parent" refers to:

 

  • the natural father/mother of the taxpayer or his/her spouse; or
  • a parent by whom the taxpayer or his/her spouse was legally adopted; or
  • a step-parent of the taxpayer or his/her spouse; or
  • a parent of the deceased spouse of the taxpayer.

"Grandparent" refers to:

 

  • a natural grandfather/grandmother of the taxpayer or his/her spouse; or
  • an adoptive grandparent of the taxpayer or his/her spouse; or
  • a step-grandparent of the taxpayer or his/her spouse; or
  • a grandparent of the deceased spouse of the taxpayer.

Only one person can be granted an allowance in respect of any one parent or grandparent. If more than one person is entitled to the allowance in respect of the same parent or grandparent, they must agree among themselves as to who shall claim the allowance.

 

In respect of the same dependant, you can claim either the dependent parent allowance or the or elderly residential care expenses, but not both.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

5. 我需要供養父母,可否申索「供養父母 / 祖父母 / 外祖父母免稅額」或「供養父母 / 祖父母 / 外祖父母額外免稅額」?

根據《稅務條例第30條第30A條,納稅人或其配偶如供養他 / 她或其配偶的父母、祖父母或外祖父母,而該名父母、祖父母或外祖父母在有關課稅年度的內任何時間內符合下列條件,則納稅人便可申索「供養父母 / 祖父母 / 外祖父母免稅額」(每名受養人 40,000元 ):

 

  • 該受養人通常於香港居住;
  • 年齡為 60 歲或以上,或雖未滿 60 歲,但有資格根據香港政府傷殘津貼計劃申索津貼;及
  • 該受養人在有關課稅年度內至少連續 6個月與納稅人及其配偶同住,而毋須付出十足有值代價(即沒有付款或作出補償);或納稅人或其配偶在該課稅年度內提供不少於12,000 元以供養該名受養人。

如該名受養人在有關課稅年度內 連續全年與納稅人同住 ,而毋須付出十足有值代價(即沒有付款或作出補償),則納稅人可申索「供養父母 / 祖父母 / 外祖父母額外免稅額」(每名受養人 40,000元 )。

 

由 2015/16 課稅年度起,納稅人如在有關課稅年度內供養在該年度未滿 60 歲的父母 / 祖父母 / 外祖父母,納稅人可獲得 新增的供養父母 祖父母 外祖父母免稅額 ,但該名受養人在該年度內必須符合以下條件:

 

  • 在該年度的任何時間內為55歲或以上,但未滿60歲;
  • 在該年度連續全年均沒有資格根據政府傷殘津貼計劃申索津貼;
  • 通常在香港居住;及
  • 與納稅人同住至少連續 6個月而毋須付出十足有值代價;或曾接受納稅人或其配偶給予最少 12,000 元作為生活費。

如該受養人在有關課稅年度內連續全年與納稅人同住,而毋無須付出十足有值代價,納稅人可申索扣減新增的額外供養父母、祖父母或外祖父母免稅額。上述兩項新增的免稅額可分別給予納稅人 20,000 元的免稅額。

 

「父母」一詞是指:

 

  • 納稅人或其配偶的親生父母;或
  • 依法領養納稅人或其配偶的養父母;或
  • 納稅人或其配偶的繼父母;或
  • 已故配偶的父母。

「祖父母或外袓父母」一詞是指:

 

  • 納稅人或其配偶的親生祖父母或親生外祖父母;或
  • 納稅人或其配偶的養祖父母或養外祖父母;或
  • 納稅人或其配偶的繼祖父母或繼外祖父母;或
  • 已故配偶的祖父母或外祖父母。

每一名受養人只可由一名納稅人申索免稅額。倘多於一名納稅人有資格就同一位受養父母、祖父母或外祖父母申索免稅額,他們須議定由那一位提出申索。

 

如納稅人在任何課稅年度已就他 / 她或其配偶的父母、祖父母或外祖父母獲得扣除「長者住宿照顧開支」, 則該納稅人不得在同一課稅年度就同一名父母、祖父母或外祖父母獲得「供養父母 / 祖父母 / 外祖父母免稅額」。

修訂日期: