Skip to main content

3. My wife refuses to see me and let me know where our daughter is, what should I do? How can I prevent my spouse from snatching our child?

 

A number of steps may be considered.

 

(1) Wardship Proceedings

 

First, where the circumstances warrant, the child could be made a ward of court as described above.

 

(2) Deposit of travel documents at solicitor’s office supported with a solicitor’s undertaking not to release them without consent of Court or relevant parties

 

As aforesaid, wardship proceedings could be very costly and time-consuming, it should therefore not be instituted lightly.

 

If you are concerned about your child’s ability to travel, either on his or her own travel document or on the strength of the travel documents of your spouse, you can request that the relevant travel documents be deposited at a solicitor’s firm together with the solicitor’s undertaking not to release these travel documents without your consent or the Court’s consent. However, this option is not absolutely secure as it may not prevent your spouse from obtaining a fresh or duplicate travel documents without your knowledge.

 

(3) Prohibition Order

 

If the deposit of the relevant travel documents as security is not feasible or not secure enough, you can consider applying for a prohibition order, which can be made within the divorce or separation proceedings. This is an order prohibiting the removal of the child from Hong Kong or out of your custody, care and control.

 

If either wardship proceedings or prohibition order is involved, your acting solicitor should immediately notify the Immigration Department by serving it with the prohibition order or wardship proceedings. The Immigration Department would then be obliged to notify all ports and airports and to stop or prevent the relevant child from leaving Hong Kong.

 

(4) Child Abduction and Custody Ordinance

 

In order to avoid the harmful effects of wrongful removal or retention of children in foreign countries, the Child Abduction and Custody Ordinance (Cap. 512 of the Laws of Hong Kong) has provisions to protect the interests’ of the relevant people. The Department of Justice would also co-operate with the Contracting States of the “Convention on the Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction” (which have the convention relationship with Hong Kong), and would assist the relevant parties in the return of those children to Hong Kong. For more details, please visit the Department of Justice’s webpage.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

3. 妻子拒绝见我,并且不让我知道女儿身在何处,我应怎样做?我如何能够阻止我妻子夺去女儿?

 

阁下可以考虑以下方案:

 

(1) 监护权诉讼

 

在有需要的情况下,可选择申请将有关子女成为受法庭监护的人

 

(2) 要求将有关护照或旅行证件存放在律师行,并由律师承诺在未经法庭或双方同意前,不得交出上述证件。

 

如前文所述,监护权诉讼可能涉及更多费用和时间,所以不应轻率地提出。

 

如阁下担心子女可以使用本身的护照或阁下配偶的护照离开香港,阁下可要求将有关护照或旅行证件存放在律师的办事处,并由律师承诺在未经阁下或法庭同意前,不得交出上述证件。可是,配偶仍可能在阁下不知情下,设法为该子女补发新护照。

 

(3) 禁止令

 

如扣押旅行证件之做法不可行或不够安全,阁下可于离婚或分居诉讼程序中申请禁止令,禁止任何人将有关子女(在不受阁下的管养和控制的情况下)带离香港。

 

不论涉及监护诉讼或禁止令,阁下的律师应立即将有关命令或监护诉讼资料送达入境处。入境处在收到资料后,会通知所有港口和机场,以阻止或防止有关子女离开香港。

 

(4)《掳拐和管养儿童条例》

 

为避免儿童被不当迁移或扣留于外地而造成伤害,《掳拐和管养儿童条例》(香港法例第512章) 亦有条文保障有关人士的利益,而律政司会跟某些与香港有《国际掳拐儿童民事方面公约》关系的缔约国家合作,以协助被不当迁移或扣留于外地的儿童交还香港。欲知详情,请浏览律政司的网页

修订日期: