Skip to main content

8. What can the wife/husband do if the other party refused or failed to make maintenance payment?

You may consider the following ways to enforce the court order for maintenance against your spouse:

 

a. Judgment summons

 

You can apply for a judgment summons.

 

Under the judgment summons, your spouse is being summoned to Court to reveal his or her financial strength to settle the arrears. There should be no delay in pursuing for the outstanding amount as the court might refuse to enforce the Order of payment for those arrears due more than 12 months before proceedings to enforce the payment of them have begun.

 

The judge has the power to make a new order for payment of the amount due or to commit your spouse to prison (according to Rule 87 of the Matrimonial Causes Rules) if he or she cannot justify his or her failure to pay. If your spouse fails to attend the hearing, the court will adjourn the case to a further hearing. If he or she still fails to attend on the adjourned hearing, the judge can commit him or her to prison in his or her absence.

 

Any committal to prison can be suspended on terms relating to the payment of the debt.

 

b. Attachment of income to satisfy order

 

With reference to section 28 of the Matrimonial Proceedings and Property Ordinance, where a maintenance order has been made against a maintenance payer and:

 

  1. a court is satisfied that the payer has without reasonable excuse failed to make any payment which he is required to make by the maintenance order; or
  2. a court is satisfied that there are reasonable grounds to believe that the payer will not make full and punctual payment in compliance with the maintenance order; or
  3. the payer and designated payee agree to the making of an order under this section; and

there is any income capable of being attached payable to the payer,

 

the Court may order the income to be attached as to the whole or part of the amount payable under the maintenance order and the amount attached to be paid directly from the payer's sources of income (e.g. his/her employer) to the specified payee. However, the payer could retain certain amount for his/her reasonable living expenses before such deduction.

 

c. Prohibition order

 

It is possible to apply to the Court on an ex-parte basis (applied unilaterally by one of the parties only) for an order that your spouse be prevented from leaving Hong Kong pending recovery of the debt.

 

If granted, the order is served on the Director of Immigration and your spouse will not be allowed to depart if he or she attempts to leave Hong Kong.

 

This procedure can be very effective in particular when your spouse travels frequently as it is likely to cause your spouse considerable inconvenience. However, you should bear in mind that the Court is reluctant to limit a person's liberty in this way. Therefore such an application should only be made as a last resort only when every other method of enforcement has been exhausted and proved inappropriate.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

8. 如对方拒绝或未能支付赡养费,妻子/ 丈夫可以怎么办?

阁下可考虑以下列方式强制阁下的配偶履行有关赡养费的法庭命令。

 

a. 判决传票

 

阁下可向法庭申请判决传票。

 

法庭可传召阁下的配偶出庭,而他 / 她需要就经济状况和清还拖欠款项的能力作出解释。阁下在追讨欠款时不应犹豫,因为若在申请执行缴付欠款的法律程序开始时,欠款已逾期未缴超过12个月,法庭就可能拒绝执行付款命令。

 

如阁下配偶缺乏充分理由而未能付款,法庭有权按照《婚姻诉讼规则第87条发出新的付款命令或判其入狱。如阁下配偶重复地缺席聆讯,法庭亦有权在其缺席下判其入狱。但如付款人清缴欠款或作出相关安排,入狱判令可暂缓执行。

 

b. 扣押入息命令

 

按照《婚姻法律程序与财产条例笫28条,如法庭已向赡养费付款人发出赡养费命令,而:

 

(i) 法庭信纳该付款人无合理辩解而没有支付该赡养令规定须付的任何款项;或
(ii) 法庭有合理理由相信该付款人不会遵从该赡养令准时及足额付款;或
(iii) 该付款人及指定受款人均同意根据本条发出命令;及

在付款人的任何入息中,有可作扣押者,

 

则法庭可命令将付款人入息中款额相当于该赡养令规定须付的全部或部分款项扣押,而被扣押的款额将由付款人的收入来源(例如他 / 她的雇主) 付给指定收款人。但作出上述扣除前,付款人可保留若干款额作为他 / 她的合理生活费用。

 

c. 禁止令

 

阁下亦可单方面向法庭申请作出命令,在讨回债款前,禁止阁下的配偶离开香港。该命令如获授予,将送达香港入境事务处处长,如阁下的配偶企图离开香港,他 / 她将会被拒出境。

 

如阁下配偶经常需要出境,这程序将非常有效,因为会为他 / 她带来相当的不便。可是,法庭未必会愿意用这种方式去限制任何人的自由。因此,只有当其他强制执行的方法无效或不适用时,阁下才应提出上述的申请。

修订日期: