Skip to main content

2. What factors will the Court consider in assessing the kind and the amount of maintenance (or alimony) to be made for a spouse?

In deciding who should pay alimony to whom, the Court is obliged to take into account the conduct of the parties and all the circumstances of the case. Those circumstances include the following, which are laid down in section 7 of the Matrimonial Proceedings and Property Ordinance (but they are not exhaustive):

 

a. The income, earning capacity, property, and other financial resources which each of the parties has or is likely to have in the foreseeable future

 

The Court will consider the overall financial position of each party both at the time of proceedings and in the 'foreseeable future', regardless of the sources or whereabouts of the assets or income. For instance, where one party has remarried or is about to remarry, the additional expense of running two households will be taken into account.

 

Full and frank disclosure of each party's assets must be made to the Court. Should it be discovered that it was not done so, adverse inference could be drawn against the party failing to make full and frank disclosure.

 

The Court will take into account how the various assets of each party have been derived in order to make a fair decision.

 

Although property acquired before marriage or by inheritance had in many jurisdictions been accorded a class of its own, in the ordinary course, this factor can be expected to carry little weight, if any, in a case where the claimant's financial needs cannot be met without recourse to this property.

 

Also, the Court will neither speculate nor base its decision on mere possibilities. The receipt of the asset or income must be reasonably certain and within the foreseeable future. This is particularly important when considering the relevance of potential inheritances (e.g. inheriting a family company or assets from a deceased or retired person).

 

b. The financial needs, obligations, and responsibilities which either of the parties has or is likely to have in the foreseeable future

 

Other than the financial resources now holding or to be received, the Court will also consider the outgoings, debts, and financial liabilities of each party. Parties should also give details of any financial obligations they have, including the expenditure on children and their school fees, regular allowance made to parents or other dependants.

 

c. The standard of living enjoyed by the family before the breakdown of the marriage

 

The lifestyle enjoyed by the parties during marriage will reflect on what their needs are. It is helpful to assess whether the financial claim is reasonable or not. For example, how to ensure that the standard of living of both parties will not be significantly declined after divorce?

 

However, in reality, it would be more expensive for a couple to live apart than to live together. It is therefore common that both parties will suffer a reduction in the standard of living upon marriage breakdown, unless the divorced couple is very well-off.

 

d. The age of each party and the duration of the marriage

 

These factors carry weight. Certainly, there will be vast difference in the award of maintenance between a short marriage where the wife is in her twenties; a short marriage where the wife is in her sixties; and a long marriage.

 

If the marriage is short, the husband's obligations to maintain the wife will be relatively lower. Also, a young woman is expected to secure a job to support herself easier than a middle-aged woman, particularly if the latter has been out of the job market for a long time.

 

It is pertinent to note that the period of cohabitation before the marriage does not count towards the length of the marriage. The rationale behind is: the legal rights and obligations of the parties do no come into existence until the wedding ceremony has taken place. Therefore a long period of cohabitation followed by a short marriage will not be treated in the same way as a long marriage, albeit the parties have been in cohabitation for a long time.

 

However, each case has to be decided in accordance with its facts. The Court would take into account of all the circumstances of the case, which may regard the long period of cohabitation as a material circumstantial factor.

 

e. Any physical or metal disability of either of the parties

 

If one of the parties suffers from any kind of disability, whether physical or mental, this would certainly affect his / her ability to gain independence or to fend for himself or herself, This factor is relevant in assessing the 'needs' of the claimant.

 

f. The contributions made by each of the parties to the welfare of the family, including any contribution made by looking after the home or caring for the family

 

The Court will look at the contributions, financial or otherwise, that each party has made.

 

It is common that during marriage, on the one hand, the husband work hard, whether through employment or operating his own business, to earn money for the household, while the wife's essential contribution was that of a caretaker of the home, a companion to her husband and as a mother. There is generally no bias in favour of the money earner and against the homemaker and child carer.

 

The Court recognizes the different, but complementary and equal, roles of husband and wife in the marriage partnership.

 

g. The value to either of the parties of any benefit which that party will lose as a result of the dissolution of the marriage

 

The Court will take into account any benefits that the parties will lose upon divorce. For instance, the loss of benefits under a former spouse's medical insurance and/or life insurance, the loss of married person's allowance, the loss of benefits used to receive from another party's family trust, etc.

Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

2. 法庭在评定给予什么类型的赡养费和其金额时,将考虑什么因素?

法庭在决定哪一方应支付赡养费时,须考虑双方的行为操守和有关个案的所有情况,其中包括下列按《婚姻法律程序与财产条例第7条所规定的部分因素:

 

a. 双方个别拥有或在可预见将来相当可能拥有的收入、赚钱能力、财产和其他经济资源

 

法庭将会考虑双方在诉讼期间和「可预见的将来」之整体经济状况,而不论其资产或收入的来源或所在地。举例说,如果其中一方已再婚或即将再婚,法庭亦会考虑他要支付两个家庭所需的额外开支。

 

每一方必须向法庭坦诚地披露所有资产。如任何一方被发现没有如实披露,法庭可能会向其作出负面的推论或判决。

 

法庭亦会考虑双方的各项资产是如何取得,以便作出公平的决定。

 

尽管在很多地区之婚姻法律下,于婚前获得或透过继承之财产均属于有关拥有人,但如申索人(即索取赡养费那一方)之经济需求不能被满足,上述财产亦可能会被法庭纳入作为支付赡养费的考虑因素。

 

此外,法庭不会纯粹根据可能性或猜测而作出决定,将会获取的资产或收入必须可合理地确定和在可预见的将来获得。当考虑有关未来继承权时(例如继承已去世或已退休人士的家族公司或资产),上述指标尤其重要。

 

b. 双方各自面对或在可预见将来相当可能面对的经济需要、负担及责任

 

除了目前拥有或将会获取的经济资源外,法庭亦会考虑双方的支出、债务和经济负担。双方应提供本身经济负担的详情,包括子女的生活费及学费、定期给予父母或其他供养人士的津贴。

 

c. 家庭在婚姻破裂前享有的生活水平

 

双方在婚姻期间的生活形式将反映出他们的需求,这有助于评估有关财务申索是否合理。例如,怎样保证双方在离婚后的生活水平不会出现重大下调?

 

可是实际上,夫妇分开生活会较共同生活需要更多支出。因此除非有关家庭极为富有,双方通常须接受生活水平将会在婚姻破裂后有所降低。

 

d. 双方的年龄和婚姻的持续期

 

如一段婚姻持续期短而妻子只有二十多岁或经已六十多岁,又或婚姻持续期很长,这些差异对授予赡养费的影响甚大。

 

如该段婚姻的持续期短,则丈夫对妻子将负起较少的财务责任。此外,年轻妇女比中年妇女(尤其是长期脱离工作市场的妇女)会较为容易找到工作自食其力。

 

有一点必须注意,结婚前的同居期不会计入婚姻的持续期,有关理据是:在举行婚礼前,双方并无任何法律权利和责任。因此,长期同居后再加上短暂的婚姻,将不能与一段持续长时间的婚姻相提并论。然而,法庭将会考虑有关个案的所有情况,亦可能将长期同居列为其中一项因素而加以考虑。

 

e. 任何一方的身体或精神残障

 

如其中一方有任何身体上或精神上之残障,因而减低其谋生和自立能力,这亦会关系到申索人之经济需求问题。

 

f. 双方各自就家庭福利所作的贡献,包括就打理住所或照顾家庭成员所作的贡献

 

法庭将会衡量每一方作出的贡献,不论是经济或其他方面。

 

在婚姻生活中,丈夫通常要透过工作或经营生意来赚取收入,而妻子则负责打理家务和照料子女。法庭不会偏袒赚钱养家的一方,也不会轻视打理家务和照料子女的一方。

 

法庭会了解到丈夫和妻子在婚姻关系中,担当着不同但互补和同等的角色。

 

g. 因离婚而导致任何一方丧失本身的任何利益

 

法庭会考虑双方在离婚后将会丧失的任何利益,例如前度配偶之医疗或人寿保险的保障、已婚人士免税额、以前惯常从对方家族信讬基金收取的利益等。

修订日期: