Skip to main content

4. What kind of maintenance order (or financially related order) is the Court empowered to make?

  • Maintenance pending suit (while application for divorce is in process) – This order also called “interim maintenance”. As its name suggests, this order is for the provision of maintenance pending the grant of final divorce decree. This is because very often there would be an interim period or a time gap between the filing of petition for divorce and the court hearing and the grant of the final divorce decree. Such kind of order cannot last beyond the final divorce decree. It will terminate in any event upon the death of either party. This order is subject to variation and the amount so ordered to be paid is not necessarily any indication of the amount which may be order to be paid upon the granting of the decree.
     
  • Periodical payments order – This is an order for maintenance which is to be paid after the final decree. The Court is empowered to limit the duration of the maintenance to a specified time, subject to the needs of the payee (the receiving party) and the circumstances of each case. This kind of order will normally terminate upon the death of either party or the remarriage of the payee. However, the Court may limit the duration of the order to an earlier time. Also, if there is any subsequent change of circumstances on the part of either payee or payer, this order can be varied.
     
  • Secured periodical payments order – secured periodical payments are ordered where there is reason to believe that the party ordered to make the payment will not pay them. As its name suggests, these are maintenance payments which are secured or guaranteed. However, it is pertinent to note that the secured provision is not to be a general charge on all assets. The Court is obliged to specify the assets on which security is to be given. The payments will continue until the death of the payee (not the payer, the party making payment), or the remarriage of payee, or an earlier date as specified by the Court. This order will only be imposed if there are reasonable grounds to believe that the common periodical payments order will be ineffective to carry out in practice and there are sufficient funds or assets of the payer whereby the payments can be secured e.g. where the payer has sufficient means but has a history of failing to abide by order so made (as in the interim maintenance order), poor record of financial irresponsibility, or has vowed to resist payment of maintenance if so ordered.
     
  • Lump Sum Order – It is an order for the payment of a capital sum in the case when the payee is entitled to one lump sum only. This order is closely related to the 'clean break' sought by a claimant. The capital sum payable under such order can be paid in various instalments. However, this order cannot be varied subsequently, because it is an ‘once and for all' order that is intended to create finality in litigation. The amount paid out is not recoverable in any event.
     
  • Property Adjustment Order – It is an order whereby one party is ordered to transfer to another his or her interest in property such as real properties, stocks, or car, etc. This kind of order, once made, cannot be varied. Situations under which property adjustment order will be made is when, for example, there is a need to allow each spouse a share in the capital value of the family assets, especially the matrimonial home.
     
  • Settlement of property order – This is an order requiring one party to transfer specified property for it to be held on trust. The trustee(s) will hold the property for the benefit of the beneficiary, (usually either the other party or the child of the marriage) in accordance with the terms of a trust deed. This type of order is not common and factors such as the child’s welfare, the income, earning capacity, property and other financial resources which each parent has or likely to have in the foreseeable future will be taken into account.
     
  • Variation of settlement order – Where a trust (which is sometimes called a settlement) is already in existence, the Court can vary the terms of that trust or settlement. Again, such an order is not common.
Last revision date:

跳转到主要内容

4. 法庭有权发出什么类型的赡养费(或与财务事项有关)命令?

  • 审讯期间提供的赡养费 ─ 亦称为「临时赡养费」。在颁布离婚最终判令之前,可藉此项命令为有需要人士提供临时赡养费,因在提交离婚呈请书后直到法庭颁布最终判令之过程需要经过一段颇长时间。 此项命令的持续期不得超越颁布最终判令之时(即审讯完结时),在任何情况下亦会于其中一方去世后终止。此项命令亦可能会在有效期完结前被修改,而下令要支付的金额,未必等于颁布离婚判令时有可能要支付的金额。
     
  • 定期付款命令 ─ 这是在颁布离婚最终判令后才要支付赡养费的命令。法庭可因应收款人的需求及案件之实际情况,将赡养费的持续期局限在一段指定时间内。定期付款命令通常将会在其中一方去世或收款人再婚后终止,可是法庭可将持续期局限在较短的指定时间内。此外,如付款人或收款人日后的生活情况有变,此项命令亦可能会被修改。
     
  • 保证定期付款命令 ─ 法庭如有理由相信,被判要付款的一方有可能不付款,就会颁布保证定期付款令。顾名思义,此类赡养费的付款将获得保证或担保。但必须注意,保证的规定并非将付款人的所有资产加以押记(抵押),而是由法庭就该项保证指定将付款人的某项资产加以押记。付款期将持续至收款人去世、或收款人再婚、或法庭指定的较早日期为止。法庭在下列情况下才会发出此项命令: i) 如有理由相信,普通的定期付款命令不会有效,并且付款人有足够款项或资产让付款获得保证,例如付款人有足够资金但曾经不遵守有关付款命令(如拒绝缴付临时赡养费); ii) 付款人有其他拖欠还款纪录;或 iii) 付款人曾誓言决不缴付赡养费。
     
  • 整笔款额命令 ─ 这是支付一笔款项的命令,而收款人只限于收取某一个指定总额的款项。此项命令与「彻底分清」 安排有密切关系。有关款项亦可透过分期付款方式支付。因这是一次过的命令,用意为诉讼作出终结,所以此类命令不能在日后再作修改。任何情况下,已支付的金额,都不可能讨回。
     
  • 财产分配(或转让)命令 ─ 这命令规定其中一方必须将他 / 她的资产权益(例如汽车、股票或土地)转归另一方。此类命令不能在颁布后再作修改。例如,若有需要让每名配偶,都分配到家庭资产的资本价值,特别是婚姻居所,法庭就会颁布财产调整命令。
     
  • 授产安排命令 ─ 这命令规定其中一方必须将指定的财产转归受讬人管理,受讬人会根据信讬契约的条款,为受益人(通常是另一方或婚姻关系中的子女)的利益,持有财产。这类命令并不常见,而法庭在颁布这类命令时,会考虑多项因素,例如儿童福利、收入、赚钱能力、每名家长拥有的物业或其他经济资源、及每名家长在可见的将来,可能会拥有的物业及其他经济资源等。
     
  • 更改授产安排命令 ─ 对于经已存在的信讬(或称授产安排),法庭可以更改有关信讬或移交的条款。这类命令亦不常见。
修订日期: