Skip to main content

Q5. Can the landlord and tenant negotiate freely on the break clause of a regulated tenancy?

 

The landlord and tenant are free to negotiate on the break clause of the regulated tenancy that can be exercised by the tenant.

 

However, Part IVA of the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance (Cap. 7) stipulates that “without limiting any rights of the tenant to terminate the tenancy by notice under the tenancy”, the tenant can terminate the tenancy before the expiry of the term by giving the landlord prior notice in writing.  Accordingly:

  • the date of termination: must not be a date earlier than the last day of the first year of the term;
  • the termination notice: must be given 30 days before the date of termination or earlier to the landlord.

 

In other words, notwithstanding the break clause provided in the tenancy agreement, the tenant can, at the earliest, by giving a termination notice to the landlord on the 30th day counting backwards from the last day of the first year of the term, terminate the tenancy on the last day of the first term.

 

Such statutory rights of the tenant implies that a break clause in the tenancy agreement can only be established if the break clause is consistent with the statutory right stipulated in the Ordinance, or if it offers more rights to the tenant than the Ordinance does.

 

Example 1: No break clause is provided in the tenancy agreement, which is commonly known as a “two-year fixed agreement”. Since the tenant can exercise the right to terminate the tenancy early in accordance with the Ordinance, the tenancy becomes essentially a commonly known “one-year flexible, one-year fixed” tenancy.

 

Example 2: A break clause provides that the tenant may terminate the tenancy on or after the last day of the first year of the tenancy by giving not less than 90 days’ prior notice. Since the tenant can exercise the statutory right to give shorter notice, the 30 days’ notice requirement prevails over the 90 days’ specified in the tenancy agreement.

 

Example 3: A break clause provides that the tenant can terminate the tenancy at any time by giving not less than 30 days’ notice, which is commonly known as the "two-year flexible agreement". Since it offers more rights to the tenants to terminate the tenancy early than the Ordinance does and there is no such occasion that the tenant will exercise the statutory right, the break clause in the tenancy agreement prevails.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

Q5. 業主與租客雙方可否自由協議規管租賃的退租條款?

 

業主與租客雙方可以自由協議租客可行使的退租條款。

 

然而,《業主與租客(綜合)條例》(第7章)第IVA部容許租客「在不影響其根據該租賃藉通知而終止該租賃的權利的原則下」,藉給予業主事先書面通知,在租期屆滿終止前終止該租賃。根據此規定:

  • 終止日期:不得早於租期第一年的最後一日;
  • 退租通知:須在終止日期的30天或以前給予業主。

 

換句話說,不論雙方議定的退租條款如何,租客均可最早可在租期第一年的最後一日起計,倒數30天前給予業主通知,在租期第一年的最後一日提早退租。

 

由於租客可行使上述法定權益,意味著退租條款必須與上述條款一致,或給予租客更佳權益,才能確立。

 

例子一,雙方議定租約不設退租條款,即俗稱的「死約」。由於租客可行使按法定權益退租,實質變成俗稱的「一年生、一年死」租約。

 

例子二、雙方議定租客可在給予不少於90天的通知後,於租期第一年的最後一日或以後,終止租約。由於租客可行使按上述法定權益,在退租前只須給予較短的通知期,條例訂明30天通知期的規定,凌駕了租約退租條款內90天的規定。

 

例子三、雙方議定租客可隨時給予不少於30天的通知終止租約,即俗稱的「兩年生約」。由於租約比條例對租客提供更佳權益,租客無需行使條例所賦予權利,租約的退租條款便得以確立。

修訂日期: