Skip to main content

Q1. What will happen to the tenancy if there is an acquisition by Urban Renewal Authority or compulsory sale involving the premises in regulated tenancies? Can a landlord terminate the regulated tenancies unilaterally or not offer second term tenancy in the offering period if the landlord believes that there will soon be a foreseeable acquisition or compulsory sale?

 

Early Termination of Regulated Tenancies

 

Unless the tenant has violated the mandatory terms implied for every regulated tenancy provided in Schedule 7 of the Landlord and Tenant (Consolidation) Ordinance (Cap. 7), the landlord cannot terminate the tenancy before the expiry of the term. Even if the tenancy has any conditions for forfeiture other than the specified provisions, they should be deemed invalid and shall be void.

 

A mere “belief” that the unit concerned is to be included in a redevelopment plan by the Urban Renewal Authority is a not sufficient reason to terminate the regulated tenancy before its expiry or not to offer the second term tenancy to the tenant in the specified offer period. If the premises are included in a redevelopment plan or are ordered by the court for a compulsory sale, the ownership of the premises will be transferred while the tenants, compensated or resettled, are required to move out in accordance with statutory procedures. 

 

Urban Renewal

 

The Urban Renewal Authority (“URA”) was established under the Urban Renewal Authority Ordinance (Cap. 563) as the statutory body to undertake, encourage, promote and facilitate urban renewal of Hong Kong.

 

When a resumption is ordered, a Government Notice will be published in the Gazette and a freezing survey will be conducted. A copy of the Government notice will be affixed on or near the properties affected, and sent to the registered owners thereof, where possible. Under normal circumstances, the Government will give a period of notice of 3 months from the date upon which the notice was affixed on or near the properties and upon expiry of the period specified in the notice, the ownership of the properties will revert to the Government. Upon the date of reversion, all legal rights and interests of the owners no longer exist. Henceforth, the former owner is not entitled to collect rents or fees of any kind from his tenant or the occupant.

 

Eligible persons will be offered compensation or ex-gratia allowances. Rehousing arrangements may be made for occupiers of domestic flats (ex-tenants), if applicable.

 

In order to assess the compensation and allowances as well as to identify persons eligible to compensation or rehousing, the Government will appoint the URA to send staff to properties to be resumed to conduct surveys. The area occupied by each household will be identified and relevant information can be obtained. If both parties fail to reach an agreement on the compensation, the case can be referred to the Lands Tribunal for adjudication.

 

As to eligible domestic occupiers, whether they opt for cash compensation or rehousing, they have to follow the necessary procedures before receiving the compensation or rehousing unit.

 

Compulsory Sale

 

In order to encourage the redevelopment of dilapidated buildings, the Land (Compulsory Sale for Redevelopment) Ordinance (Cap. 545) was brought into force on 7th June 1999. The Ordinance enables people who hold a specified majority of the undivided shares in a lot to make an application to the Lands Tribunal for an order to sell it for redevelopment.

 

When making an order for compulsory sale, the Tribunal may order that compensation be paid to a tenant for termination of tenancy. The Tribunal may specify in directions that:

  • tenancies shall be terminated immediately upon the purchaser becomes the owner; and
  • tenants are to deliver vacant possession only upon expiry of 6 months immediately following the day the purchaser becomes the owner.

 

The Lands Tribunal may take into account the following in determining the amount of compensation:

  • the tenants’ representations; and
  • the benefit afforded to the tenants for not being required to deliver vacant possession until six months after the purchaser becomes the owner of the lot.

 

Lease covers both oral or written agreement.

 

Upon the sale of the lot, each ex-owner will be responsible for paying the compensation to their own “ex-tenants” if compensation is specified in the order issued by the Lands Tribunal. The trustee will deduct the compensation amount specified by the Lands Tribunal from the sale proceeds before releasing the residual amount to the owners.

Last revision date:

移至主內容

Q1. 倘若市區重建局的重建計劃或強制售賣令涉及規管租賃處所,會如何處理該些租賃?業主可否基於相信短期內該物業涉及重建計劃或強制售賣,而單方面提早終止該等規管租賃?

 

提早終止規管租約

 

除非租客違反《業主與租客(綜合)條例》(第7章)附表7所列出的隱含強制性條款,否則不可以在規管租賃到期前提早終止。即使有關租賃在指明的條文以外訂有任何沒收租賃權的條件,亦屬作廢及無效。

 

業主單純“相信”有關單位將被市區重建局納入重建計劃或涉及強制售賣,並不足以成為提早終止規管租約或不向租客提供次期租賃的充分理由。如果有關物業確實被納入市區重建計劃或被強制售賣﹐物業的業權會按法例轉移,租客亦會按法定程序得到賠償或安置並遷出單位。

 

市區重建

 

市區重建局(市建局)是根據《市區重建局條例》(第563章)成立的法定機構,透過進行、鼓勵、推廣及促進本港市區更新,應對市區老化問題,並改善舊區居民生活環境。

 

在下令進行收地計劃時,政府會在憲報刊登收地公告和進行凍結人口登記。該公告的一份副本會在受影響物業或其附近張貼,並盡可能寄交有關註冊業主。在一般情下,政府給予的通知期為在受影響物業或其附近張貼公告當日起計的三個月。公告所載的限期屆滿後,受影響物業的業權即復歸政府所有。自復歸日期起,有關人士享有的一切法律權利及權益亦於該日終止。此後,前業主不得向其租戶或物業佔用人收取租金或任何費用。

 

合資格人士將獲發補償或特惠津貼。在適當情況下,住宅佔用人(前租戶)亦可能獲得安置。

 

為計算補償和津貼額,以及確定何人符合資格領取該等款項或獲得安置,政府會在刊憲當日,委托市建局派員到尚未成功收購的物業單位進行登記調查,以確定各住戶所佔用的面積及搜集資料。倘若雙方最終未能就補償建議達成協議,其個案將可轉交土地審裁處裁決。

 

至於合資格的住宅佔用人,無論他們接受現金補償或安置建議,均需辦理有關手續,以領取搬遷津貼╱特惠補償,或參與配屋的安排。

 

強制售賣

 

為了鼓勵重建破舊大廈,《土地(為重新發展而強制售賣)條例》(第545章)於1999年6月7日生效。 條例旨在容許在地段擁有一定業權份數的大業主向土地審裁處提出申請,要求土地審裁處為重建該地段而作出命令,強制售賣該地段。

 

當作出強制售賣令時,土地審裁處可命令對被終止 租約的租客作出賠償。土地審裁處可作出指示,訂明:

  • 購買者成為擁有人當日起,租約即當作已在該日終止; 及
  • 購買者成為擁有人當日後的 6 個月屆滿後,租客才須交回物業在空置情况下的管有。

土地審裁處在裁定賠償款額時可考慮下列情況:

  • 租客的申述;及
  • 租客所獲得的利益(租客在購買者成為地段擁有人6 個月後才須交出物業在空置情况下的管有)。

 

租契包括口頭或書面協議。

 

如土地審裁處在售賣令中指明須對租客作出賠償,在售賣有關地段後,每名前擁有人須負責向其「前租客」作出賠償。受託人將從出售所得款項中扣除土地審裁處指定的補償金額,然後再將剩餘金額發放給業主。

修訂日期: